go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Health services manager
Health Services Management Subject Guide

 

Databases

ATSIhealth 
  Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health (ATSIHealth), produced by the School of Health Studies, Edith Cowan University, provides an index to published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. Source documents include theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents. 1900+
AMI
  Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE.  Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+
APAIS - Health
  Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS-Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. This database is a subset of the APAIS database. 1978+
Cochrane Library 
 
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. National access to the Cochrane Library is funded by the Commonwealth Government of Australia - click on "Login anonymously" button. The NICS Guide to the Cochrane Library is also available.
 
The Cochrane Library contains the following EBM databases:
  • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
  • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  • The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
  • The Cochrane Methodology Register References
  • Collaborative Review Groups
  • Methods Groups
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
 For UNSW staff and students outside Australia, please use the following access to Ovid databases: 
EMBASE 
  The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+
Global Health
Global Health, published by CAB International, brings together the resources of two international databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. The Global Health database provides deep subject coverage of information related to human health and communicable diseases. 1973+
HealthWIZ
HealthWIZ, produced by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing, is the National Social Health Statistical Data Library. It contains comprehensive population health related statistical databases, from across the Australian health services sector, for the purposes of clinical research, policy development and health services planning, particularly in regional areas. 1970+
( CD-ROM ONLY - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library)
HEAPS
Health Education and Promotion System. An extensive catalogue of Australian and New Zealand health promotion projects and resources. The database covers over 5,000 entries on more than 1500 subjects contributed by around 750 organisations.
( CD-ROM ONLY - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library)
HSRProj
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress) is a database providing access to information about ongoing health services research before results are available in a published form. It contains descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts for use by policy makers, managers, clinicians and other decision makers. Records cover both grants and contracts awarded by major public and private funding agencies and foundations.
Meditext
  Meditext is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of health and medicine. It is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia. 1980+
Medline via OVID
  Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+
OLDMEDLINE
The Ovid OLDMEDLINE database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, contains citations for articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences, originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1950 through to 1965.
RURAL
Rural and Remote Health database (RURAL) is produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health. It  indexes international  literature on rural and remote area health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. It consists of 7 smaller databases dating from 1966+ :
  1. Education for Rural Medical Practice
  2. Indigenous People's Health
  3. Rural and Remote Area Nursing
  4. Rural and Remote Health Care
  5. Rural and Remote Area Aged Care
  6. Promoting Rural Men's Health
  7. Rural and Remote Area Health Care

Related Databases

AusStats
AusStats is the Australian Bureau of Statistic's (ABS) web-based information service - providing you with the full ABS product range online, updated daily.
Australian OH&S Online
Australian OH&S Online, published by IHS Australia, provides full text access to 11,400 documents from over 120 organisations. The database is a collection of occupational health and safety information which includes: - Legislation - Codes of Practice - Guidelines - Policy Statements - Safety Alerts - Reports - Circulars & Bulletins - Workcover Publications
Biomed Central
  Biomed Central is an alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings.
Campbell Collaboration
  Campbell Collaboration is an evidence-based sociological and educational database. The objective of the Campbell Collaboration is to prepare and maintain systematic reviews of studies of the effects of policies and practices.
Current Contents
Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary, full text database that indexes literature from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Includes articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. 1980+
Factiva
Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian and the Australian Financial Review.
General Science Full Text
General Science Full Text, published by WilsonWeb, indexes literature from a broad range of scientific subject areas including: Astronomy; Atmospheric Science; Biology; Botany; Chemistry; Conservation; Earth Science; Environment; Food & Nutrition; Genetics; Health & Medicine; Mathematics; Microbiology; Oceanography; Physics; Physiology; Zoology. 1984+
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
The CSA Health and Safety Science Abstracts database provides access to recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene. Topic coverage includes  1981+
Health and Society
Health & Society Database (H&S) is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. FAMILY is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health are of direct importance to Australian people and families, and are a core subject area of the database. 1980+
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area.
PEDro
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) has been developed by the Centre for Evidence based Physiotherapy based at the School of Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. It aims to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
POPLINE
POPLINE, published by John Hopkins University Press, contains bibliographic citations and abtracts on population-related topic including : human fertiltiy, contraceptive methods, family planning services, maternal and child health, AIDS in developing countries, program operations and evaluation, demography, censuses, vital statistics, and related health, law and policy issues. 1968+
PsycINFO
  PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and the law. 1887+
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Social Work Abstracts 
Social Work Abstracts, produced by the US National Association of Social Workers, is the primary index to journal articles published in the social work and social welfare field. Included are topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organisation. 1977+
Sociological Abstracts
  Sociological Abstracts, published by CSA, abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Subject coverage includes: Demography and human biology; Health and medicine and law; Social psychology; Substance abuse and addiction 1963+
Web of Science
  Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+