go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Health services manager
Health Services Management Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

 

Reference Resources


Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

The Australian dictionary of clinical abbreviations, acronyms and symbols
Print: MBREF 610.148/20
Encyclopaedia of Life Sciences
(UNSW Subscription)
METeOR
METeOR  is an electronic register and query tool for health metadata designed and created by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.  It can be used  to look in the contents of National Health, Community Services, Housing Assistance and related Data Dictionaries and find out precise definitions of data on a particular health or community services.
Mosby's medical, nursing, & allied health dictionary
Print: MBREF 610.3/87 D

Directories

NSW Health Services Directory
Prepared by the NSW Department of Health this directory lists health services throughout the state. It can be searched by geographic area, suburb, name or type of service.
Hospital & health services year book
Print: MBREF 362.1105/1 
The Hospital and Health Services Yearbook lists over 5700 hospitals, aged care and healthcare establishments in Australia and New Zealand including public and private hospitals and community care.

Legislation

General
Commonwealth Legislation
ComLaw, from the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, is the official site for Commonwealth Legislation
NSW Legislation
LegislationNSW, from the Parliamentary Council's Office, is the official site for NSW legislation
Specific
Health Legislation Amendment (Medicare) Bill, 2003
Health and Aging Legislation Amendment Bill, 2003
Health Legislation Amendment (Medicare and Private Health Insurance) Bill 2003
NSW Health Administration Act 1982
Healthcare Complaints Act 1993

Handbooks and Guidelines

Australia's Health 
  Australia's Health is the biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. It is the nation's authoritative source of information on patterns of health and illness, determinants of health, the supply and use of health services, and health services expenditure.
EPI Info
  Public domain software packages designed for the global community of public health practitioners and researchers. Provides for both easy form and database construction, data entry, and analysis with epidemiologic statistics, maps, and graphs.
Handbook of Medical Informatics
The purpose of the Handbook is to provide a systematic overview of medical informatics for medical students and nursing students, for physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals, and for students in other areas, such as informatics and computer science.
ICD-10 International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems 10th revision
The ICD has become the international standard diagnostic classification for all general epidemiological and many health management purposes. It is used to classify diseases and other health problems recorded on many types of health and vital records including death certificates and hospital records
Inpatient Statistics Collection Instruction Manual 2002/2003
The Inpatient Statistics Collection is a census of all admitted patient services provided by New South Wales Public Hospitals, Public Psychiatric Hospitals, Public Multi-Purpose Serivces, Private Hospitals, and Private Day Procedures Centres.
Casemix Data Collections
The Australian Department of Health and Ageing manages a number of hospital related data collections. These contain information about hospital activity in the public and private systems.
Medicare Benefits Schedule
The Australian Government's  Medicare benefits schedule, incoporating initiatives to take effect from Jan 2005.
NSW Health Comparison Data Book
The Data Book provdes information about the nature of services provided to patients treated in NSW Hospitals, the performance of health services and the manner in which resources are utilised by hospitals.
NSW Health Services Comparison Data
Update of Volume 2 of Public Hospitals Comaprison Data Book  - Casemix Measures for 1999-2000

Other Online Resources

Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's official statistical organisation providing extensive data on the Australian population including:
Australian Department of Health and Ageing Annual Reports
Australian Department of Health and Ageing Publications
Australian Hospital Statistics 2004-2005
Comprehensive annual reporting of statistics on Australia's hospitals from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.
Health Insurance Commission and Medicare Annual Reports
National Health Performance Framework Report - August 2001
  Describes and illustrates a national health performance framework that has been developed by the National Health Performance Committee (NHPC). The framework  supports benchmarking for health system improvement and provides information on national health system performance.
Fourth National Report on Health Sector Performance Indicators
National Guidelines Clearinghouse USA
 A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
NHMRC Publications
Publications of Australia's National Health and Medical Research Council
NSW Department of Health Annual Reports
NSW Health Corporate Plan 2003-2005
NSW Health Publications
OECD Health Project
The OECD embarked on a three-year Health Project in spring 2001. The project focused on measuring and analysing the performance of health care systems in member countries and factors affecting performance. The purpose of the analysis was to help decision-makers formulate evidence-based policies to improve their health systems' performance.
World Health Report