go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Health Informatics Subject Guide

 

Databases

These databases are useful for finding journal articles and are available to UNSW staff and students only.

  Bibliographic database includes references to articles from published material covering health and medicine in Australia.
 CINAHL
  Provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health areas.
EMBASE
  The EMBASE family consists of four separate databases: (1) EMBASE: Excerpta Medica Database, and its subsets, (2) EMBASE Drugs and Pharmacology, (3) EMBASE Psychiatry, and (4) EMBASE: Evidence Based Medicine. Produced by Elsevier Science.
 Expanded Academic ASAP
  Provides a combination of indexing, abstracts, images, and full text for scholarly and general interest journals embracing all academic disciplines.
FACTIVA
  Business database providing full text access to many Australian newspapers, including Sydney Morning Herald, The Australian and Australian Financial Review (hint: from My Source Lists, choose Australian publications or elect to search specific newspapers).
INSPEC
  Covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of communications, electrical engineering, information technology, computers, and the applications of computers to a wide variety of disciplines.
Meditext
  Provides access to resources on all aspects of medicine and health. Includes links to full text data.
MEDLINE
  Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine Online tutorials for Medline are also available.
PubMed
  Free search system for health information produced by the US National Library of Medicine.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily
ScienceDirect
  Provides comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science, including information science. Includes links to full text data.
AUSTLII
 
Includes Australian Legislation, Acts and Regulations.
 

Use Sirius for a complete list of electronic resources including databases, e-journals, e-books, subject guides, web gateways, search engines & reference sites.