go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

communication
Interpersonal Communication in Health Organisations Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
 

Journals

High Impact Journals
These journals have been selected using Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a resource tool for journal evaluation. According to JCR, these journals have a high impact on the literature of this particular subject area (communication) when compared with other journals in the field.
Human communication research
Full text available online from 1974 -
Public opinion quarterly
Full text available online from 1965 -
Print: S 301.15206/1 from Vol.15, issue no.1 (1951) - Vol.67, issue no.4 (2003)
Media psychology
Full text available online from 1999 -
Communication research
Full text available online from 1982 -
Print: S 001.505/5 from Vol.1(1974) - Vol.30, issue no.6 (Dec. 2003)
Technical communication
Full text available online from 1992
Journal of Health Communication
Full text available online from 1996, most recent 1 year not available.
Cyberpsychology & behavior
Full text available online from 1999
 
Recommended Journals
Australian Journal of Communication
Full text available online from 1994 -
Print: S 302.205/1 from issue no. 1/2 (Jan./Dec. 1982) -
Australian SCAN : journal of human communication.
Print: S 808.04205/1 from Vol. 1 (1976/77) -
Health: an interdisciplinary journal for the social study of health, illness and medicine.
Full text available online from Vol.3, issue no.1 (1999) - 
Print : S 306.46105/1 from Vol.2, issue no.1 (Jan 1998)-
Journal of Communication
Full text available online from Vol.1, issue no.1 (1951)  -
Print : S 001.505/4 from Vol.1 issue no.1 (1951) - Vol.52, issue no. 4 (Dec. 2002)
Social Science & Medicine
Full text available online from Vol.40, issue no.1 (1995) -
Print: SQ 305/9 from Vol.16, issue no.1 (1982) - Vol.50 issue no.7/8 (Apr. 2000)
Sociology of Health and Illness
Full text available online from Vol.1, issue no.1 (1979) -
Print :  S 362.105/49 from Vol.1, issue no.1 (June 1979) - Vol.24, issue no.6 (Nov. 2002)
Communication and Medicine
published by Extenza. Some issues are available online Free.
 
Open Access Journals
Media and communication: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is open accessible directory of free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in the Internet. You can access the journals by browsing the categories, or by searching for journal or articles records.

Journals held in the UNSW Library Collection

Specific Journal Title
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering the journal title in the "Search for" box, changing the "field to search" drop-down menus to Title Keyword and then "Limit by" format to Journals Only.
 
Journals by Subject Area
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering appropriate subject terms in the "Search for" box, changing the "field to search" drop down menu to  Subject Keyword and then "Limit by" format to Journals Only.
Quick Link to Interpersonal Relations journals held by UNSW Library.
Quick Link to Comunication journals held by UNSW Library.
Quick Link to Health Communication journals held by UNSW Library
 
Please note: The Library Resources Database will give you a list containing a brief display of each record. The record will tell you the location and which issues of the journal are held, as well as whether the journal has electronic access. Click on the Title and then "Electronic access" hyperlink to go directly through to the e-journal.

Journals not held in the UNSW Library

Search Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL), by title for specific journals held in other Libraries. Location codes are listed in the Interlibrary Resource Sharing (ILRS) Directory
 
Please note: Staff and postgraduate students may request interlibrary loans for materials not held by UNSW Library