go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Life Sciences Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Texts | Images & Multimedia

Databases


Australian Databases

Agriculture and Natural Resources Index: ANR-Index 
  ANR-Index, produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of agricultural production, fisheries, rural economics, horticulture, animal health, forestry, food sciences and human nutrition. 2000+
Agriculture and Natural Resources Index Archive: ANR-Index Archive
ANR-Index Archive (formerly ABOA and Streamline), produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. 1975-2000
Agriculture and Natural Resources Research: ANR-Research 
ANR-Research (formerly known as ARRIP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a research in progress database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources.
Agriculture and Natural Resources Research Archive: ANR-Research Archive
ANR-Research Archive (formerly known as CARRP), an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a research in progress database that contains completed research projects from the ANR-Research database across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. 1984 - present
AHB 
Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) database, produced by the Australian Heritage Commission, indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subject coverage includes national parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites. 1987+
ELIXIR 
  NRE's Electronic LIbrary eXchange for Information Resources (ELIXIR), produced by the Library and Information Services Unit of the Victorian Department of Natural Resources and Environment, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, manuscripts and pictorial matter in departmental libraries and regional collections. Subject coverage includes natural resources and environment ecology, conservation, forestry, national parks, botany, horticulture, pest control, plant control, animal control, aquaculture, fisheries, marine studies; environmental engineering; natural resources. 1990+
ENDANGER
  Threatened Species in Australia: A Select Bibliography (ENDANGER), produced by the Deakin University School of Aquatic Sciences & Natural Resources Management, is a bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian threatened flora and fauna and related topics. 1960+
EVA 
Environmental Abstracts (EVA) database is produced by the EPA Victoria Library. It is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. 1990+
REEF
  Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database (REEF), produced by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. 1990+
SAGE 
Science and Geography Education (SAGE) database indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects. Most journals indexed are Australian. SAGE began as part of CSIRO's commitment to the effective dissemination of the results of scientific research. It is suitable for use by lower tertiary students. 1990+
STREAMLINE
  Australia's Natural Resources Database (STREAMLINE), produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd for the Land and Water Resources Research and Development Corporation and the Urban Water Research Association of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of natural resource management. Subjects cover the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources. 1990+

International Databases

AGRICOLA 
AGRICultural OnLine Access (AGRICOLA) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (US). Subject coverage includes agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. 1970+
ASFA 
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) database is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners. It contains Part 1, Biological sciences and living resources; Part 2, Ocean technology, policy and non-living resources; and: Part 3, Aquatic pollution and environmental quality. 1971+
Biological Abstracts 
  Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a key database for life sciences literature. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology are also included. 1969+
CAB Abstracts
  CAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB International (CABI). It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.1973+
Entrez
  Entrez: the Life Sciences Search Engine, produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data from >130,000 organisms, along with 3D protein structures, genomic mapping information, PubMed MEDLINE, and more.
FSTA
  Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA), produced by the International Food Information Service (IFIS), is a key database for information on food science, food technology, and human nutrition. 1969+
General Science Full Text
  General Science Full Text, published by WilsonWeb, indexes literature from a broad range of scientific subject areas including: Astronomy; Atmospheric Science; Biology; Botany; Chemistry; Conservation; Earth Science; Environment; Food & Nutrition; Genetics; Health & Medicine; Mathematics; Microbiology; Oceanography; Physics; Physiology; Zoology. 1984+
Geobase
Geobase, published by Elsevier, is a bibliographic database providing access to information for development studies, the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. 1980+
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." 9th - 15th Yearbooks
Oceanic Abstracts
  Oceanic Abstracts, published by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, indexes literature on a range of ocean related subjects, including: marine biology; physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. 1981+
PsycINFO
  PsycINFO, published by the American Psychological Association (APA) indexes literature in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872+
SCANFile
  SCANfile, produced by the CSIRO Corporate Library and Information Service, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on science/technology policy and R&D/general management. Subject coverage includes all aspects of human resource management, S&T and R&D management, social and economic implications of scientific innovation, science and technology policy, planning and evaluation, and technology transfer. 1978+
SciFinder Scholar
  SciFinder Scholar, published by the American Chemical Society (ACS), is a desktop research tool that allows access to chemical information available within: CAS Registry - the largest substance database with over 32 million substances; CAplus - a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents with over 23 million documents 1907+; CASREACT with over 7 million reactions. NB Special software is required to access this database.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
TOXNET
  Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), published by the National Library of Medicine (US)  is an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases. It includes Toxline, a bibliographic database of literature on the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Web of Science 
  Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+
Zoological Record
  Zoological Record, currently published by BIOSIS, and jointly with the Zoological Society of London until 2003, is a comprehensive index to zoological literature. Subject coverage includes: zoology, taxonomy, nomenclature, genetics, animal behaviour, systematics, breeding, biology, evolutionary ecology, dairy science 1978+

Related Databases

Biomed Central
Biomed Central is an alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings.
Business Insights
Business Insights, published by Reuters, is a full text database of  book-length industry reports in the areas of Consumer goods; Energy; Finance; Healthcare; Technology.
ChemID Plus
ChemID Plus, produced by the US National Libray of Medicine, is a resource that can be used to investigate chemicals that affect biological functions in humans and animals.
Current Contents
  Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary, full text database that indexes literature from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Includes articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. 1980+
Factiva
  Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian and the Australian Financial Review.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area.
MEDGE
  Management and Environment Information (MEDGE), produced by Information Edge, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on management issues for business and government from 1985 onwards. Subject coverage includes environmental management, recycling, ISO 14000, litter control, occupational health and safety, manufacturing research development and new technology. 1985+