go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Life Sciences Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Texts | Images & Multimedia

Journals

High Impact Journals
These journals have been selected using Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a resource tool for journal evaluation. According to JCR, these journals have a high impact on the literature of this particular subject area when compared with other journals in the field.
Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology
 
Full text available online from from volume 1 issue 1 (2000) -
Nature
 
Print: PJ 500/N420 Vol. 7 (Nov. 1872/Apr. 1873)-v. 228 (1970) Incomplete; v. 229 (1971)-v. 420, no. 6917 (19 Dec. 2002)
Full text available online from volume 325 issue 6099 (1987) -
Science
 
Print: P M/758 Vol. 1 (1883)-v. 111 (1950); MB Vol. 113 (1951)-
Full text available online from (1880) -
Cell
Print: MB Vol. 1 (1974)-v. 115, no. 7 (Dec. 2003) Incomplete
Full text available online from (1974) -
Annual Review of Cell and Developmental Biology
Print: MB Vol. 11 (1995)-v. 18 (2002)
Full text available online: volume 1 issue 1 (1985) -
Nature Cell Biology
Full text available online from volume 1 issue 1 (1999) -
Trends in Cell Biology
Print: MB Vol. 7 (1997)-v. 10 (2000)
Full text available online from (1991) -
 
Open Access E-Journals
Biomed Central Journals
PLoS Biology
Biology and Life Sciences Journals / Directory of Open Access E-Journals (DOAJ)

Journals held in the UNSW Library

Searching for a Specific Journal Title
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering the journal title in the search box, changing the "Fiels to search" drop-down menu from Keyword all fields to Title Keyword. Select the Journals Only button next to "Limit to Format".
 
Searching for Journals by Subject Area
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering appropriate subject terms in the Keywords box, and leave the drop-down menu on Keyword all fields. Select the Journals Only button next to "Limit to Format".
 
Quick Link to Biology journals held by UNSW Library
Please note: The Library Resources Database will give you a list containing a brief display of each record. 
 
For electronic journals: Click on the "Online Access" link to go through to the SFX page. This will list all the different e-versions of this journal. Click on the red button to link to the full text.
 
For print journals: Click on the "Print Holdings" link to display the shelf location of this journal and the volumes/issues that UNSW Library has in its collection.