go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Life Sciences Subject Guide


Key Resources

Biological Abstracts
[Database] Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a key database for life sciences literature. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology are also included. 1969+
BioMed Central 
[Database] BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research
BioMedProtocols
[E-Books] BioMedProtocols.com is an online database of full-text, peer-reviewed life science and biomedical research protocols. It provides online access to all content published in the Humana Press book series 'Methods in Molecular Biology' and 'Methods in Molecular Medicine'.
Current Protocols
[E-Books] Online edition of Wiley's publications on laboratory methodology. Annotated, step-by-step manuals. Quarterly updates. Includes protocols for Human Genetics, Molecular Biology, Food Analytical Chemistry and others.
Dictionary of Biology 
[E-book] From Oxford Reference Online
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
[E-book] From Nature Publishing. An online tutorial is also available.
Science Direct 
[Database] Science Direct is a searchable, full text collection of Elsevier journals
CSIRO Journals
  [E-journals] Published by CSIRO
CSIRO Australia  
[Web gateway] The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation
National Academies Press Online Books 
  [E-books] A collection of over 3,000 online books from the US National Academy of Sciences

Related Subject Guides