go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Marine Sciences and Fisheries Subject Guide

Key Resources | DatabasesJournals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
 Organisations | Current Awareness | Texts | Images & Multimedia

Internet Links


Internet Gateways

AquaNIC - Aquaculture Network Information Center
electronic aqualculture resources
Algae
supported by the Department of Botany at the National Museum of Natural History Smithsonian Institute. Includes research notes abstracted from the Institute's publications displaying algae images and provides useful links to other resources about algae.
Cetacea
comprehensive list of information of all known species of whale,dolphin and purpoise
CoRIS: NOAA's Coral Reef Information
supports the program's mission to provide effective management and sound science to preserve, sustain and restore valuable coral reef ecosystems. The site highlights funding opportunities, news and highlights, outreach and education, information about the program and coral reef ecosystem fact sheets.
Ocean Portal
  Directory of ocean data and information related web sites
Environment Portal
  The Australian government's gateway to Australian environmental resources on the Internet Includes sections on Coasts & Oceans, Inland Waters, and Environmental Protection
Oceonography Resources on the Internet
  Compiled by the U.S. Department of Commerce, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
Scirus
A science search engine provided by Elsevier publishing.
UN Atlas of the Oceans
relates to the sustainable development of the oceans produced by various national and international agencies.
World Wide Web Virtual Library : Oceonography

All About Fish

Australian Museum Fish Department
All about the Australian Museum's fish collection, research, fieldwork, types and online fish distribution maps
Find a fish Pages on hundreds of species of fish
Identify a fish  A pictorial key to the identification of fishes to families
 
Fish movies  Underwater footage of Australian fishes
FishBase
A database of fish, covering over 27,000 species
Ichthyology
online database of fish records searchable by location or scientific name
World Fish Center
An international research centre involved in research on fisheries and other living aquatic resources
Includes a link to Fishbase.

Field Guides

Underwater field guide to Ross Island and McMurdo Sound, Antarctica
Sponsored by the (UN) National Science Foundation
Details marine species found in Antarctica
Includes Diving under Antarctic Ice, A gallery of underwater pictures taken in McMurdo Sound.
Aquatic Inverterbrates Illustrated Field Guide
Search Aquatic Invertebrates by Class, Functional Feeding Group or Habit
Nature.com
portal offering online searchable field guides to over 4800 plant and animal species.
Field Guide to Anemone Fishes and their host Sea Anemones
Permits quick and accurate identification of the invertebrate hosts, as well as the fishes, through well-illustrated, easy to use keys and underwater photographs.
Field Guide to the Mangroves of Queensland
Twenty-two of the most commonly occurring mangrove forest plants - both true mangroves and mangrove plant associates - are illustrated here.
Field Guide to Freshwater Invertebrates
Descriptions of the invertebrates you might expect to find at an excellent stream site (i.e. site unchanged by humans), a moderate site, and a poor (i.e. degraded) site.

Aquaculture

The Australian Aquaculture Portal
The Australian Aquaculture Portal has been developed in an attempt to centralise the growing body of information, research and business opportunities in the Australian Aquaculture Industry. It is managed by the National Aquaculture Council.
CEFAS(Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Sciences)
A UK based research and consultancy centre prividing services in fisheries science and management, environmental monitoring and assessment, fish farming, fish health, disease and hygiene.

Other Marine Sources

Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
El Nino Theme Pages
Accessing distributed information related to El Nino
Ocean Policy: Striking a Balance  (CSA Discovery Guide)
Recent U.S. policies regarding the use of marine resources have sought to compromise between environmental issues and economic interests.
The Oceania Project
This site provides up-to-date information about whales and dolphins and offers the means for you to directly participate in their care, protection and conservation.
Reef Snapshots 
The Great Barrier Reef Image collection comprises over 70,000 spectacular images of reef life and activities. Some of these images are now available on the Web for educational purposes only.
US Seagrants Publications