go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Marine Sciences and Fisheries Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
Organisations | Current Awareness | Texts | Images & Multimedia 

Organisations


Australian

Australian Department of Agriculture, Fisheries & Forestry
The Australian Government Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry has the dual roles of providing customer services to the agricultural, food, fisheries and forest industries, and addressing the challenges of natural resource management.
Australian Fisheries Management Authority
The Commonwealth Statutory Authority responsible for efficient management of Commonwealth Fishery resources. Provides access to Reports, Plans, Australian Fisheries, Research, Environmental Management, Compliance, Data Collection and Legislation
Australian Institute of Marine Science
This site offers information about the Institute and its research activities and provides links to other marine science related sites around the world
Australian Marine Sciences Association (AMSA)
A national non-profit organisation dedicated to promoting marine science and coordinating discussion and debate of marine issues in Australia
Bureau of Rural Sciences Australia - Fisheries
The Fisheries and Marine Sciences Program provides scientific advice on Australia’s marine ecosystems and the sustainable harvesting of fish stocks. Includes Fisheries Status Reports
Centre for Marine Biofouling & Bio-Innovation
The Centre for Marine Biofouling and Bio-Innovation (CMBB) at the University of New South Wales is an international focal point for interdisciplinary research into chemically mediated interactions between organisms.
CHRIS (Coastal Habitual Resource Information System)
A fantastic source of information on the State's fisheries resources
CSIRO Marine Research 
Aims to understand Australian oceans by conducting research in the sustainable use of Australia's marine resources, the ocean's role in climate, and the effective conservation of the marine ecosystem integrity
Department of Fisheries
Responsible for the management of WA's fish, marine and aquatic resources and pearling industry
Fisheries Research & Development Corporation
FRDC is concerned with planning, funding and managing fisheries research and development. Provides information on Australia's Fishing Industry and research and development programs
Fishing and Aquaculture - Department of Primary Industries
The Department of Primary Industries (DPI) purpose is to promote the sustainable development of primary industries for the benefit of all Victoria.
Geoscience Australia
is the national agency for geoscience research and geospatial information.
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority
gateway to information on all aspects of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park and World Heritage Area
Native Fish Australia 
Native Fish Australia is a volunteer organisation that is open to anyone who cares about the well-being of Australia's native freshwater fish and the rivers, streams and other waterways that they inhabit.
NSW Environment Protection Agency
comprehensive information on water quality and aquatic biodiversity in NSW
NSW Fisheries - Department of Primary Industries
Principal agency responsible for conservation and management of living aquatic resources. Includes sections on recreational fishing, aquatic habitats, threatened species, marine protected areas, aquaculture, science and commercial fishing.
Queensland Fisheries (Fishweb) - Department of Primary Industries
The Department of Primary Industries and Fisheries manages the State's fisheries resources
South Australian Fisheries Research and Advisory Board
includes research and development strategies, and environment and ecology sections
Sea Fishing and Aquaculture  -Department of Primary Industries, Water and Environment, Tasmania
The Department is responsible for the management of sea fisheries and has a strong focus on education and promoting public awareness

International

Centre for Marine and Coastal Studies
The Centre for Marine and Coastal Studies (CEMACS) was established in August 1991 to undertake research and post-graduate training in Marine Science and Coastal Ecosystems
FAO Fisheries Department 
aims to secure the long-term sustainable development and utilization of world fisheries and aquaculture.
Fish and Wildlife Research Institute (US)
The Fish and Wildlife Research Institute’s work includes assessment and restoration of ecosystems and studies of freshwater and marine fisheries, aquatic and terrestrial wildlife, imperiled species, and red tides. The institute develops the information science required to analyze and disseminate research products and engages in outreach activities to compliment all program. Notes: Look into the "Resources and Publications" section for a collection of research publications for public access.
the IOC assists governments to address their individual and collective ocean  and coastal problems through the sharing of knowledge of knowledge, information and technology and through the coordination of national programs.
International Council for Exploration of the Seas [ICES]
promotes and coordinates marine research in the North Atlantic.
MareNet
links to other Resources of Marine and Earth Science Information on the Web and Services of  related Fields and Disciplines.
Marine Biological Laboratory
The Marine Biological Laboratory is an international center for research, education, and training in biology, biomedicine, and ecology.
Marine Mammal Centre - marine mammal health topics.
Research at The Marine Mammal Center focuses on marine mammal health issues to understand the causes of marine mammal strandings, including links to ocean health, and to develop veterinary techniques.
  NOAA was the first physical science agency in the United States, the first agency formed specifically for observation and study of the atmosphere, and the first agency formed to study and conserve natural resources.
North Pacific Marine Science Organization
an intergovernmental scientific agency with the aim of promoting & coordinating marine research in the North Pacific.
 
carries out scientific investigations in oceanography and atmospheric science.
Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego  
Scripps Institution of Oceanography is one of the oldest, largest, and most important centers for marine science research, graduate training, and public service in the world.
World Aquaculture Society (WAS), an international non-profit society with over 3,000 members in 94 countries. Founded in 1970, the primary focus of WAS is to improve communication and information exchange within the diverse global aquaculture community.
The UN system’s authoritative voice on the state and behaviour of the Earth’s atmosphere, its interaction with the oceans, the climate it produces and the resulting distribution of water resources from weather prediction to air pollution research.