go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Marine Sciences and Fisheries Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
  Organisations | Current Awareness  |  Texts | Images & Multimedia

Reference Resources


Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences 
Fishbase
Online Nautical Dictionary
Nautical - Acronyms & Abbreviations
Glossary of Physical Oceanography & Related Disciplines 
IOC/UNESCO List of Ocean related Titles and Acronyms 
Australian marine life: the plants and animals of temperate waters 2000
MBREF 591.770994/1
Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences 2001
PREF 551.46003/6 /(1-6)
Practical handbook of marine science 1994
PREF 623.803/6

Bibliographies


Additional Resources

CSIRO
Marine Research a series of information sheets and articles about CSIRO research, facilities and activities
Codes for Australian Aquatic Biota CAAB) a continuously maintained and expanding 8-digit coding system for aquatic organisms in the Australian region maintained by CSIRO Division of Marine Research.
Blue Pages Marine and Coastal Data Directory of Australia.
MarLIN the CSIRO Marine Laboratories Information Network is being developed as the searchable metadatabase (directory of datasets) for data held by the CSIRO Division of Marine Research (CMR). It also provides details of, or on-line links to, supporting information such as documentation, images, WWW sites with further information.
National Introduced Marine Pest Information Systems  (NIMPIS) provides access to accurate and up to date information on the biology, ecology and distribution of introduced marine species, and potential control options for those designated as pests.
Global Directory of Marine and Freshwater Professionals
NASA's Global Change Master Directory 
UN Atlas of the Oceans
Union List of Marine and Aquatic Serials