go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Microbiology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
OrganisationsCurrent Awareness

Databases

What is a database?
Library databases index journal contents and other types of publications. You will need to use them to search for journal articles related to your topic.

Different databases index different journals. Hence to broaden your literature search, it is often best to use more than one database. This guide lists some databases which may be relevant to you.

These databases are available to UNSW staff and students only.

AMI - Australasian Medical Index (1968-)
Produced by the National Library of Australia, this database indexes and abstracts articles from over 100 Australian health and medical serials not indexed for MEDLINE, on all aspects of health and medicine. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and the full text
APAIS - Health (1978-)
Indexes material that is a subset of the APAIS database, covering health and medicine in Australia. Clinical articles are not included and the emphasis is on the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Documents indexed include journals, newspapers, conference papers and books. It contains 22,000+ records.
Biological Abstracts ( 1985-)
  Life Sciences Literature
CAB Abstracts (1984-)
  Indexes over 16,000 journals and books, covering sustainable development, emphasising agriculture, forestry, human health and the management of natural resources, with particular attention to the needs of developing countries. Commonwealth Agricultural Bureau
Current Contents (1993-)
  Cover-to-cover indexing of journal articles, reviews, meeting abstracts, editorials etc. of more than 7500 international journals covering all disciplines.
Embase (1988-)
Major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
FSTA (1969-)
  Food Science & Technology Abstracts monitors approximately 1800 journals and many other types of literature (books, conference proceedings, these, patents, standards, legislation, etc.) Published in over 40 languages it indexes items relevant to the food sector.
General Science Full Text (1984-)
  Indexes major English language journals publishes chiefly in the U.S.
Medline via OVID (1966-)
  Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, and reproductive biology. Over 3900 journals are indexed by this database. An Online tutorial for Medline is available.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science (1994-)
  The database covers over 8,000 journals across all disciplines worldwide, with about 22,000 articles being added weekly. The journals are selected as the most influential and relevant peer-reviewed titles across all disciplines.

For a complete list of all UNSW Library Electronic Resources, go to Sirius.