go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Bacteria
Microbiology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference Resources | Internet Links
OrganisationsCurrent Awareness   

Key Resources

 Australian Society for Microbiology
  [Website]  Australian organisation offering news, events and details of publications in the areas of microbiology.
 American Society for Microbiology 
[Website]  American organisation offering news, events and details of publications in the areas of microbiology.
 Biological Abstracts 
[Database]  Biological Abstracts encompasses the field of life sciences and provides coverage of the world’s published biological and biomedical research. This includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as experimental, clinical and veterinary medicine
 CAB Abstracts 
  [Database]   CAB ABSTRACTS is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
Current Contents (1993-)
[Database]  Cover-to-cover indexing of journal articles, reviews, meeting abstracts, editorials etc. of more than 7500 international journals covering all disciplines.
Current Protocols in Microbiology  / 2006
[E-book]  Current Protocols in Microbiology provides detailed, step-by-step instructions for analyzing bacteria, animal and plant viruses, fungi, protozoans and other microbes. It offers updated coverage of emerging technologies and concepts, such as biofilms, quorum sensing and quantitative PCR, as well as proteomic and genomic methods.
FSTA (1969-)
[Database]   Food Science & Technology Abstracts monitors approximately 1800 journals and many other types of literature (books, conference proceedings, these, patents, standards, legislation, etc.) Published in over 40 languages it indexes items relevant to the food sector.
Medline via OVID (1966-)
[Database]   Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, and reproductive biology. Over 3900 journals are indexed by this database.
Microbiology and Immunology Online
[E-book]  An award-winning microbiology and immunology online textbook based on a University of South Carolina School of Medicine course for second-year medical students. The hypertext contains five central parts under the following major themes: Immunology, Bacteriology, Virology, Parasitology, and Mycology.

Related Subject Guides