go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Bacteria
Microbiology Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabasesJournals | Reference Resources | Internet Links
OrganisationsCurrent Awareness

Reference Resources


Dictionaries

MB579.03/2A - Dictionary of microbiology and molecular biology. 3rd ed., Chichester, 2001
MBREF576.03/3 - A dictionary of microbial taxonomy. Cambridge, 1978
Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
This online resource includes 16,000 entries to the terminology of biochemistry and molecular biology, as well as related allied sciences such as chemistry, immunology, genetics, virology, biophysics, and microbiology

Encyclopaedias

 Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
MBREF579.03/1(1-4) - Encyclopedia of Microbiology. 2nd ed., San Diego, 2000.

Online Resources

The Biology Project
  An on-line interactive resource for learning biology.
BioMedProtocols
An online database of full-text, peer-reviewed life science and biomedical research protocols. It provides online access to all content published in the Humana Press book series 'Methods in Molecular Biology' and 'Methods in Molecular Medicine'.
Current Protocols
Online edition of Wiley's publications on laboratory methodology. Current protocols provides annotated, step-by-step manuals. They are updated quarterly.
Jawetz, Melnick, & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology
This e-book is available through the AccessMedicine collection. Select "Microbiology" under the "Basic Science" menu.
Microbionet
A directory of microbiological information on the web from the Sciencenet Multimedia Publishing House Pty Ltd.
The E.Coli Index
Species 2000
  A project indexing the world's known species.
List of Bacterial Names with standing in Nomenclature
  Compiled by J.P. EUZÉBY, Laboratoire de Bactériologie, Ecole Nationale Vétérinaire de Toulouse.
Microbiology and Immunology online
An award-winning microbiology and immunology online textbook based on a University of South Carolina School of Medicine course for second-year medical students. The hypertext contains five central parts under the following major themes: Immunology, Bacteriology, Virology, Parasitology, and Mycology.
Modern food microbiology
Explores the fundamental elements affecting the presence, activity, and control of microorganisms in food.
Microbiology Textbook
On-line textbook outlining the basics of microbiology
Pubmed Bookshelf
Excellent collection of e-books from the National Library of Medicine, including publications on cell biology and microbiology such as Medical Microbiology and Helicobacter Pylori.