go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Public Mental Health in Australia Subject Guide


 

Databases


Australian Databases

AMI Australasian Medical Index
  This database indexes material dealing with all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and para-professional fields; it covers Australian and New Zealand health and medical literature which is not included in Medline.
APAIS Health
  This bibliographic database includes articles from published material covering health and medicine in Australia. In particular they cover the legal, social, economic, and ethical aspects of health.
ATSIhealth - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health 
Includes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. Source documents include theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents.
CINCH Health
CINCH Health, a subset of the CINCH Criminology database, indexes articles on health issues in Criminal Justice
DRUG
Produced by the Alcohol and Other Drugs Council of Australia. Indexes journals, monographs, conference papers, research reports, theses, government documents, statistics and unpublished material on the psychological aspects of substance abuse.
FAMILY 
Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Subject coverage includes research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families, including counselling and therapy; health; health policy and services; social and community services; and sexual attitudes and behaviours. 1980+
HEALTHWIZ
HealthWIZ, produced by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing, is the National Social Health Statistical Data Library. It contains comprehensive population health related statistical databases, from across the Australian health services sector, for the purposes of clinical research, policy development and health services planning, particularly in regional areas. 1970+
( CD-ROM ONLY - May be borrowed from Biomedical Library information desk - for use in the library)
Health & Society
This is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY) produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. FAMILY is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health are a core subject area of the database.
Meditext
Meditext is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), it includes fulltext articles on all aspects of medicine and health.
RURAL
  Produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health, this database forms a major contribution on an international scale to the understanding of rural and remote health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. The information is relevant to health providers, health planners, researchers, and members of rural and remote area communities.

International Databases

Campbell Collaboration
Campbell Collaboration is an evidence-based behavioural, sociological and educational database. The objective of the Campbell Collaboration is to prepare and maintain systematic reviews of studies of the effects of policies and practices.
Clinical Trials.gov
Clinical Trials on Behaviors and Mental Disorders from the US National Institutes of Health
Consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases, including The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - evidence based systematic reviews prepared by the Cochrane Collaboration which provide high quality information to people providing and receiving care and those responsible for research, teaching, funding and administration at all levels.
EMBASE   
  This major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, and public health.
Factiva
Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources. It includes news articles from Australian newspapers.
Medline via OVID
  produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Includes clinical psychology
Online tutorials for Medline  are also available.
Mental Measurements Yearbook 
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." 9th - 15th Yearbooks
Psychiatry online
PsychiatryOnline is a searchable collection of psychiatric reference resources, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. It includes the full text of DSM-IV-TR, the DSM-IV Handbook and Casebook, APA Practice Guidelines and the Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO, published by the American Psychological Association (APA) indexes literature in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872+
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Sociological Abstracts
This database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Web of Science
  Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+