go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Public Mental Health in Australia Subject Guide

 Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources 

 

Reference Resources

Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

The encyclopedia of mental health / Ada P. Kahn and Jan Fawcett. New York, NY, USA : Facts on File, c1993.
Print: MBREF 616.89003/8
Lexicon of psychiatric and mental health terms. (2nd ed) Geneva : World Health Organization, 1994.
Print: MBREF 616.89003/5 B
Lexicon of psychiatry, neurology, and the neurosciences (2nd ed.) / Frank J. Ayd, Jr. Philadelphia : Lippincott-Williams & Wilkins, 2000
MBREF 616.803/1 A
Mental health dictionary
An online dictionary of mental health terms from the US National Mental Health Information Center
Psychiatric dictionary (7th ed.) / Robert Jean Campbell. New York : Oxford University Press, 1996.
Print: MBREF 616.8903/1 F

Directories

NSW Department of Health
24-hour Telephone Contact Numbers for NSW Area Mental Health Services

Legislation

Commonwealth Legislation
ComLaw, from the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, is the official site for Commonwealth Legislation
NSW Legislation
Legislation NSW, from the Parliamentary Council's Office, is the official site for NSW legislation. Mental Health Act 2007  is available full text.

Handbooks and Guidelines

Accredited Person's Handbook
The NSW Institute of Psychiatry's handbook provides a clear explanation of the legal and clinical frameework within which accredited persons exercise their duties and responsibilities. It is a valuable reference tool for all clinicians making decisions under the Mental Health Act.
American Psychiatric Association . Practice Guidelines
  APA practice guidelines are intended to assist psychiatrists in clinical decision-making and to improve patient care.
Charter for Mental Health Care in NSW
From the NSW Department of Health
Diagnostic Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Full text of the DSM IV. Part of a collection of psychiatric reference resources from the APA called PsychiatryOnline.
Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists. Position Statements
  Position statements are developed by the College on issues of relevance to psychiatry where the College has a public position.

Other Online Resources

Auseinet Publication Series
Full text publications from the Australian Network for Promotion, Prevention and Early Intervention for Mental Health (AUSEINET)
Blue Pages
BluePages provides consumer information about depression. It was developed by CMHR, ANU and CMIS, CSIRO with additional funding from the Commonwealth Department of Health and the ACT Department of Health and Housing.
Chief Health Officer's Report: Mental Health
Mental Health chapter from the Report of the NSW Chief Health Officer 2004
Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry  (UNSW Subscription)
This e-book from Books@Ovid is aimed at psychiatrists, other physicians, and mental health professionals from all fields, including psychology, social work, and nursing.
Mental Health Council of Australia Publications
The Mental Health Council of Australia (MHCA) is the independent, national representative network of organisations and individuals committed to achieving quality mental health for everyone in Australia.
Mental Health & Wellbeing - Publication Resources
  Publications from the Australian Department of Health and Ageing
Mental Health Portal
  Links to publications from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
National Mental Health Strategy
The National Mental Health Strategy is an agreement between the Commonwealth and all State and Territory governments that aims to improve the lives of people with a mental illness.
New Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry (UNSW Subscription)
This e-book from Books@Ovid is intended to be suitable as a work of reference for psychiatrists of all levels of experience, and for other professionals whose work involves them in the problems of psychiatry.
NSW Health Department - Consumer information 
Consumer info on mental health including 24hr contact numbers
PsycBooks (UNSW Subscription)
  Full text psychology books from the American Psychological Association. Select the 'Browse Contents' button at the top of the Ovid screen for a list of books by title or subject