go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Doctor and Baby
Culture and Health Subject Guide



Internet Links

Australian Indigenous HealthInfonet
The database has been produced by the Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet at the School of Nursing and Public Health, Edith Cowan University. The database includes theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents concerning australian indigenous health.
Cultural Diversity in Health
The Cultural Diversity in Health site of the Postgraduate Medical Council of NSW, provides links to a variety of web resources with the aim of assisting health practitioners (particularly junior doctors working within the NSW hospital system) in meeting the health needs of Australia's diverse community.
CultureMed
This web site was established by the SUNY Institue of Technology Library. It contains extensive bibliographies, references and links that discuss health beliefs and ethnographic information about various ethnic groups.
Diversity Health Clearinghouse
The Diversity Health Institute Clearinghouse is a central access point for Australian multicultural health services, resources, research, training, and events.
DiversityRx
Diversity Rx is a clearinghouse of information on how to meet the language and cultural needs of minorities, immigrants, refugees and other diverse populations seeking health care.
EthnoMed
This site published by the Harborview Medical Center in Seattle, USA  contains links to information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other issues pertinent to the health care of people from a variety of ethnic and cultural backgrounds.
HealthInsite
Commonwealth Government of Australia initiative which aims to provide access to quality information about human health
Medical Anthropology Web
The website target to promote "the cultural & biological study and understanding of health, illness & health care".
MedlinePlus - Health Topics - Population Groups
This web gateway provides good health information from the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The Health Topics section includes guides to Asian-American Health, Native-American Health and African-American Health.
Multicultural Health Clearinghouse
Established by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaigne, the clearinghouse includes health information on various populations/ethnic groups and translated health materials in Arabic, Chinese, French, Korean, Japanese, Spanish, Portuguese and Russian.
Multicultural Mental Health Australia - Links
Links to ethnic resources from Multicultural Mental Health Australia which is funded under the National Mental Health Strategy and National Suicide Prevention Strategy by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing
Transcultural and Multicultural Health
This guide from the Indiana University Library lists health education materials and Websites appropriate for use with people from different cultures and adults with limited literacy skills.