go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Nutrition and Health Subject Guide



Key Resources

Australia's Food and Nutrition, 1994
[E-document] Australian Institute of Health & Welfare
Australia's Health
[E-documents]  biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. It is the nation's authoritative source of information on patterns of health and illness, determinants of health, the supply and use of health services, and health services expenditure
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare 
[Website]  Health and welfare statistics and information.
The Blonz Guide - Nutrition, Food & Health Resources
[Web gateway]
Body Mass Index 
[Website]  National Institute of Health (Body Composition)
Books@Ovid
[E-book]  Collection of full text electronic books on various medical topics
CSIRO Diet and Nutrition
[Website]  CSIRO, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, is Australia's national science agency and one of the largest and most diverse research agencies in the world
Dictionary of food and nutrition /  Arnold E. Bender & David A. Bender.
[E-book]
Dietitians Association of Australia
[Website] 
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition  
[E-book]  London : Academic Press, 2000
Food allergy and intolerances
[Website]  US National Institutes of Health
Food and Nutrition Information Centre
[Website]   US Center which collects and disseminates information about food and human nutrition
Food, Nutrition and Metabolism Topics
  [Web gateway] This web gateway provides good health information from the world's largest medical library, the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up to date.
Food Standards Australia New Zealand
[Website]  Food Standards Australia New Zealand is a bi-national independent statutory authority that develops food standards for composition, labelling and contaminants, including microbiological limits, that apply to all foods produced or imported for sale in Australia and New Zealand.  
FSTA
  [Database]  FSTA (Food Science & Technology Abstracts)  Indexes journals, books, theses, reports, conference proceedings and standards on food science, food technology and human nutrition. Covers approximately 1800 journals.
HealthInsite 
  [Website]  a wide range of up-to-date and quality assessed information on important health topics
International Food Information Council
[Website] 
Medline
[Database]  The MEDLINE database (produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine) is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.   
Online tutorials for Medline are also available.
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease  
[E-book] From Books@Ovid
Nutrition Journal 
[E-journal]  from Open Access
Nutrition & dietetics : the journal of the Dietitians Association of Australia
  [E-journal]  available online from 2002 -
[E-document] This group of publications provide information on dietary guidelines for all Australians
World Health Organization
[Website] 

Related Subject Guides