go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Occupational Health Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases |Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

This subject guide has been prepared by Biomedical Library staff to support teaching and research in the Faculty of Medicine. Contact Biomedical Library for further information or assistance in this subject area.

Databases

ABI/Inform (Proquest)
  Includes industrial relations, safety science, risk managment.
AMI (Australasian Medical Index)
  AMI indexes material dealing with all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and para-professional fields; it covers Australian and New Zealand health and medical literature which is not included in Medline.
APAIS Health
  APAIS Health is a subset of the APAIS database, covering health and medicine in Australia. Clinical articles are not included and the emphasis is on the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health in Australia. Documents indexed include journals, newspapers, conference papers and books.
AUSTLII
  Free access to Australian legislation and case law
Australian OH&S Online
Australian OH&S Online provides full text access to 11,400 documents related to occupational health and safety, from over 120 organisations: includes guidelines, codes of practice, safety alerts, reports.
Australian Standards
Australian Standards Online provides full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards. Access to approximately 6000 standards.
CHEMFINDER
A chemical search engine on the web which provides free access  to a range of information from different sites on specific chemicals. Particularly useful for toxicology, hazardous substances, medical managment informations and MSDSs.
CINAHL
  Nursing, allied health (including Occupational Health Nursing and Rehabilitation) 
CISDOC
  CISDOC is an index to documents related to occupational safety and health, safety standards, chemical and physical hazards. Published by the International Occupational Safety and Health Information Centre (CIS) which is part of the ILO.
DRUG
  Aspects of substance abuse  (including work related.)
Embase
  EMBASE, the Excerpta Medica database, produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical database indexing over 3,500 international journals. It includes material on occupational health
Ergonomics Abstracts
Ergonomics Abstracts indexes 45,000+ records from 350 journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, research reports and books. Ergonomics Abstracts covers mainstream ergonomics but also related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human- computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.
Health & Society
  Health & Society Database (H&S) is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY), produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. Subject coverage includes:  health policy; health services; health education and promotion; health administration; and economic issues. 1980+
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
The CSA Health and Safety Science Abstracts database provides access to recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene. Topics covered include aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, ergonomics, and health & safety releated aspects of pollution. The database indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports and other publications.
IREL
Australian Industrial Relations database including OHS, not updated since 2000
MEDLINE
  Biomedical literature, Online tutorials for Medline are also available
NIOSHTIC 2
NIOSHTIC 2 is a bibliographic database that provides international coverage of occupational health and safety documents. It is produced by the US National Institute for Occupational Health And Safety (NIOSH)
NLM Household Products Database
  Health & Safety Information on household products, searchable by Product, Ingredient or MSDS
RURAL
Contains 4 smaller databases : Database 1: Education for Rural Medical Practice Database 2: Indigenous People's Health Database 3: Rural and Remote Area Nursing Database 4: Rural and Remote Health Care.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
TOXLINE
  All areas of toxicology (Produced by the National Library of Medicine)
TOXNET
  Free access to a range of databases from the National Library of Medicine (US). Includes HSDB, CCRIS, IRIS, GENE-TOX and Toxline.
WORKLIT
  Australian Industrial Relations, work, job design