go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Doctor and baby
Paediatrics Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

 

Reference Resources


Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

Chilhood disorders diagnostic desk reference
Print: MBREFQ 618.920075/25
Encyclopedia of clinical child and pediatric psychology
Print: MBREF 618.9289/164
emedicine - PEDIATRICS
Clinical knowledge database, contains information on hundreds of pediatric diseases and disorders.

Legislation

General
Commonwealth Legislation
Scaleplus, from the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, is the official site for Commonwealth Legislation
NSW Legislation
LegislationNSW, from the Parliamentary Council's Office, is the official site for NSW legislation
Specific
A Better Future for our Kids Bill, 2003
Assistance for Carer's Legislation Amendment Bill, 1999

Handbooks and Guidelines

Australian Immunisation Handbook
 
8th edition, 2003. Published by the NHMRC, this handbook is the primary reference for immunisation matters in Australia.
Australian Standard Immunisation Schedule
  Adapted from the Australian Immunisation Handbook.
AGPAR Scoring for Newborns
The Children's Hospital at Westmead handbook : clinical practice guidelines for paediatrics
  Print: MB 618.92/236

Other Online Resources

CDC Growth Charts: United States.
Children Youth Health
Child and Youth Health promotes the health, well-being and development of children, young people and families across South Australia.
General Pediatrics.com
  A directory of common pediatric problems, policy statements, clincial practice guidelines, and consumer health information.
HealthInsite - Child Health
Australian government website providing access to government and non-government paediatrics web sites.
Karolinska Institutet
The Karolinska library's guide to links pertaining to congenital, hereditary, and neonatal diseases and abnormalities
Key National Indicators of Children's Health and Wellbeing
Published by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare - provides an overview of key indicators for children's health in Australia.
A Picture of Australia's Children (AIHW publication)
 The third national statistical report on the health, development and wellbeing of Australia's children aged 0-14 years.
Virtual Pediatric Hospital 
Virtual Pediatric Hospital addresses the continuum of pediatric education. It is written for and intended primarily for use by residents, fellows, or attending physicians practicing pediatrics. Medical Students beginning their study of pediatrics or other health care providers practicing pediatrics may find it useful.