go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Pill bottle
Pharmacology Subject Guide


 

Databases

AMI
  Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE.  Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+
APAIS - Health
  Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS-Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. This database is a subset of the APAIS database. 1978+
Clin-eguide
This medical decision support tool from Ovid provides evidence-based information for use at the point of care. This resource integrates fully with other UNSW-subscribed Ovid products, allowing linking through to Medline, Embase and Books@Ovid. It will be continually updated with new content.
Cochrane Library 
 
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. National access to the Cochrane Library is funded by the Commonwealth Government of Australia - click on "Login anonymously" button. The NICS Guide to the Cochrane Library is also available.
 
The Cochrane Library contains the following EBM databases:
  • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
  • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  • The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
  • The Cochrane Methodology Register References
  • Collaborative Review Groups
  • Methods Groups
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
 For UNSW staff and students outside Australia, please use the following access to Ovid databases: 
EMBASE
  The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+
Medline via OVID
  Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+

Related Databases

PubChem
PubChem, published by the National Library of Medicine, contains the chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.
SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar provides access to chemical information available within:
CAS Registry ; CAplus 1967+ - a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents ; CASREACT with over 3.4 million reaction. Please note: This database requires special software. It cannot be used off-campus unless you are using UDUS as your Internet Service Provider
Toxnet 
Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET), published by the US National Library of Medicine, is an integrated system of toxicology and environmental health databases. It includes Toxline, a bibliographic database of literature on the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+