go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Pill bottle
Pharmacology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

 

Reference Resources


Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

MIMS Online
(UNSW Subscription)
MIMS is an Australian pharmaceutical database. It offers access to essential information on over 2,300 prescription and non-prescription drugs.
Also available in Print: Ask at Biomedical Library Information Desk for latest edition 
British National Formulary
"The BNF provides UK healthcare professionals with authoritative and practical information on the selection and clinical use of medicines in a clear, concise and accessible manner."
British Pharmacopoeia
Print: MBREF 615.114206/2
Merck Index
Print: MBREF 615.103/1AF
US Pharmacopeia (USP)
Print: MBREF 615.117305/1 A

Legislation and Standards

General
Commonwealth Legislation
Scaleplus, from the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, is the official site for Commonwealth Legislation
NSW Legislation
LegislationNSW, from the Parliamentary Council's Office, is the official site for NSW legislation
Specific
Therapeutic Goods Act 1989
Standard for the uniform scheduling of drugs and poisons. No. 16 2001
  MBREF615.1/127S

Handbooks and Guidelines

Australian Medicines Handbook
  Provides indications, contraindications, specific considerations, interactions, adverse effects and dosage of most of the drugs marketed in Australia.
Australian Prescription Products Guide (APPGuide Online)
Thirty Fourth edition, 2005 - Incorporating the Non-Prescription Products Guide.
UNSW Subscription - please see username and password at top right of screen when you click on the SFX link
ChemFinder
For toxicology, hazardous substances, medical management info. and MSDSs.
Current Protocols in Pharmacology
Current Protocols in Pharmacology provides an authoritative, updatable source of laboratory procedures containing a full gamut of molecular, cellular, physiological, and chemical techniques for the successful discovery and development of novel drugs and therapeutics.
Drug Information
National Library of Medicine information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications.
eTG Complete
An electronic compilation of Australian Therapeutic Guidelines. eTG Complete also includes links from drug recommendations to information from the Australian Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS).
National Guidelines Clearinghouse (US)
Provides access to evidence based clinical practice guidelines.

Other Online Resources

Drug Discovery On-line
  Sorucing site for the drug development industry
National Medicines Policy
Australian Department of Health and Aged Care
National Prescibing Service
National Prescribing Service (NPS) provides accurate, balanced, evidence-based information and services on Quality Use of Medicines (QUM). There is an online training Medication Chart module and a Curriculum web site which provides an interactive learning environment to encourage the development and practise of rational prescribing skills.
PDR Net
Physicians Desk Reference. (Registration required - free)
RX-List
  The Internet Drug Reference (US)