go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Health Promotion Subject Guide



Databases

ABI Global 
full text database which indexes newspapers, magazines, journals including those in the area of public health, health education and psychology
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health 
  indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous health. .
AMI - Australasian Medical Index
  bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australian health and medical serials, most of which are not indexed for MEDLINE, on all aspects of health and medicine.
APAIS - Health
  covers health and medicine in Australia
CAB Abstracts
Agriculture, biotechnology, forestry, microbiology, nutrition, tropical diseases, tropical medicine
CINAHL 
covers nursing and allied health, with some public health material
CHID online  (Combined Health Information Database)
produced by health-related agencies of the US Federal Government. This database provides titles, abstracts, and availability information for health information and health education resources.
DRUG 
  covers Australian material on substance abuse
EMBASE 
  produced by Elsevier Science, major biomedical database
Expanded Academic 
  multidisciplinary database with some full-text material
FACTIVA
Indexes articles from popular newspapers and magazines.(Includes Sydney Morning Herald)
Health and Society 
  covers Australian material on health, health policy and health promotion
Infoquick
comprehensive index to articles about Australia and Australians, published in the Sydney Morning Herald and associated publications: Sun Herald, Eastern Herald, Northern Herald and Good Weekend. Produced by the State Library of NSW. Coverage: 1988-
Medline 
produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, a major biomedical database
Online tutorials for Medline are also available
Health and Safety Science Abstracts
CSA Health and Safety Science Abstracts database provides access to recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene. Topics covered include aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, ergonomics, and health & safety releated aspects of pollution. The database indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports and other publications.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
RURAL
Contains 4 smaller databases : Database 1: Education for Rural Medical Practice Database 2: Indigenous People's Health Database 3: Rural and Remote Area Nursing Database 4: Rural and Remote Health Care