go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Psychology Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

PsycINFO
 
PsycINFO, published by the American Psychological Association (APA) indexes literature in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. 1872+
PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES, published by the American Psychological Association, is a full text source for academic, research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines. The content can be accessed by searching the Journals@Ovid database and then choosing the "limit to: PscyARTICLES" option.
EMBASE 
EMBASE, a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database, indexes international journals in the following relevant fields: drug research, mental health, psychology, psychiatry, public health.
Medline via OVID
  Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals, including literature related to psychology and psychiatry. An Online tutorial for Medline  is also available. 1966+
ABI-Global
ABI-Global covers consumer behaviour, organisational behaviour, human resources.
Alternative Press Index
  Alternative Press Index covers resources outside mainstream academic literature. Strong emphasis on minority cultures, ethnic groups and race relations. Also strong on human rights and indigenous issues. International in coverage. 1991+
APAIS Health
  Australian Public Affairs Information Service - Health (APAIS-Health), produced by the National Library of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material. APAIS-Health covers health and medicine in Australia and in particular the legal, social, economic and ethical aspects of health. Clinical articles are not indexed for APAIS-Health. This database is a subset of the APAIS database. 1978+
APPI Journals
APPI Journals is a database of fulltext articles from the journals published by American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
ERIC
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world's premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. It includes literature on educational psychology.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary, full text database that indexes literature from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Includes articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. 1980+
Journal Citation Reports 
  Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area.
Mental Measurements Yearbook 
  Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed "Mental Measurements Yearbooks." 9th - 15th Yearbooks
Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts(LLB)
  Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts covers all aspects of the nature and use of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics from 1973 onwards.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect database is a fulltext collection based on 1150 journal titles published by Elsevier. It includes literature in the areas of psychology, psychiatry, substance abuse, public health.
Sociological Abstracts 
  Sociological Abstracts provides international coverage of sociology and sociological issues. Links to full text of many articles. Includes organisational theory, social psychology. 1974+
Social Sciences Index
Social Sciences Index provides an index to core periodicals in numerous social sciences disciplines including psychology. Some articles are available in full text.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
 
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Social Sciences Citation Index. 1956+