| |

|
 |
Public Health and Community Medicine Subject Guide
Australian
| AMI - Australasian Medical Index (1968+) |
| |
Produced by The National Library of Australia, this database indexes and abstracts articles from over 100 Australian health and medical serials not indexed for MEDLINE, on all aspects of health and medicine. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and the full text of most National Health and Medical Research Council sessions. |
| APAIS - Health (1978+) |
| |
Indexes material that is a subset of the APAIS database, covering health and medicine in Australia. Clinical articles are not included and the emphasis is on the legal, social ,economic and ethical aspects of health. Documents indexed include journals, newspapers, conference papers and books. It contains 22,000+ records. |
| Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health (1900+) |
| |
Indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous Health. Source documents include theses, unpublished articles, government reports, conference papers, abstracts, book chapters, discussion and working papers and statistical documents. |
| DRUG (1974+) |
| |
Produced by the Alcohol and Other Drugs Council of Australia. Indexes journals, monographs, conference papers, research reports, theses, government documents, statistics and unpublished material on the psychological aspects of substance abuse. |
| |
Multidisciplinary databases that indexes over 3000 journals with some full-text material. |
| Health & Society (1980+) |
| |
This is a subset of Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY) produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. FAMILY is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. Health policy and services and the social, psychological, legal and ethical issues associated with health are a core subject area of the database. |
| HEALTHWIZ |
| |
Australian health statistics (Biomed Info Desk) |
| Australian OH&S online |
| |
Australian OH&S Online provides full text access to 11,400 documents related to occupational health and safety, from over 120 organisations: includes guidelines, codes of practice, safety alerts, reports. |
| RURAL (1966+) |
| |
Produced by the Monash University School of Rural Health, this database forms a major contribution on an international scale to the understanding of rural and remote health issues and care, and the practice and educational needs of health providers, in particular medical practitioners and nurses. The information is relevant to health providers, health planners, researchers, and members of rural and remote area communities. |
International
| ABI Global |
| |
Multidisciplinary, full-text database, includes information on Public Health |
| Medline (1966+) |
| |
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders and reproductive biology. Over 3900 journals are indexed by this database. For assistance try Medline Tutorial |
| CINAHL (1982+) |
| |
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health. It indexes over 1200 journals. |
| Cochrane Library |
|
|
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases |
| Current Contents Connect |
|
|
A multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. |
| EMBASE (1988+) |
| |
Major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and managment, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine and biomedical engineering / instrumentation. |
| Expanded Academic ASAP (1980+) |
| |
Multidisciplinary databases that indexes over 3000 journals with some full-text material. |
| Factiva |
|
|
Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources. It includes trend stories, profiles, analysis and commentary, identified by Factiva's industry specialists, that provide overviews about particular industries, including the health industry. |
| Global Health |
|
|
Global Health brings together the resources of two international databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Dating back to 1973, the Global Health database provides deep subject coverage of information related to human health and communicable diseases. 1973+ |
| Health and Safety Science Abstracts |
|
|
CSA Health and Safety Science Abstracts database provides access to recent work relating to public health, safety and industrial hygiene. Topics covered include aviation and aerospace safety, environmental safety, nuclear safety, medical safety, occupational safety, ergonomics, and health & safety releated aspects of pollution. The database indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, reports and other publications. |
| OECD Health Data 2004 |
|
|
OECD Health Data 2004 offers a comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.
Instructions:
- Download this data application to your desktop from the SourceOECD collection of databases
- Select OECD Databases from the "Go to" dropdown menu at the top of the SourceOECD homepage.
- Select OECD Health Data from the list
- Click on download and follow the instructions under Procedure.
|
| PSYCINFO(1887+) |
| |
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and the law. For assistance see guide to searching PsycINFO using OVID. |
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Social Work Abstracts |
|
|
primary index to journal articles published in the social work and social welfare field. Also included are selected dissertations. |
| Sociological Abstracts (1963+) |
| |
This database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. |
| Web of Science (1994+) |
|
|
This database covers over 8,000 journals across all disciplines worldwide, with about 22,000 articles being added weekly. The journals are selected as the most influential and relevant peer-reviewed titles across all disciplines. |
| |
| Open Access Database |
| Campbell Collaboration |
| |
An evidence-based sociological and educational database. |
|
|