go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Public Health and Community Medicine Subject Guide



Journals

Recommended Full text e-journals
The Library subscribes to a large number of full text electronic journals. To access these journals search by the LRD by title. Some major journals are:
Australia and New Zealand Journal of Public Health
Journal of Community Health
Public Health Reports
American Journal of Public Health
Public Health Nursing
It is possible to access these journals which allows you to set up a table of contents or an alert service. Access via journal title and go to publisher's homepage.
 
Free Access E-journal
In addition there is a number of useful journals freely available
Bulletin - World Health Organisation (The International Journal of Public Health)
Communicable Diseases Intelligence (current issue from the Federal Department of Health and Aged Care)
Emerging Infectious Diseases (current issue from the CDC)
Infectious Diseases: action against infection (World Health Organization)
NSW public health bulletin  (current issue)
WWW Virtual Library  -The Virtual Library: Public Health is a web-based index of quality public health websites and online resources.

Other Journal Information

Journal Citation Reports
  ISI Institute of Scientific Information
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory
This database provides information on selected periodicals and serials published throughout the world. It includes annuals, continuations and conference proceedings, deriving input data from over 80,000 U.S. and foreign serials publishers.
List of Journals indexed for Online Users (PubMed)
  National Library of Medicine, US. Provides list of journals indexed in Medline including journal abbreviations

Journals held in the UNSW Library

Journals by Subject Area
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by changing the "Field to Search" drop down menu from "Keywords All Fields" to "Subject Keywords" and entering appropriate terms. Limit by format to Journals Only for a listing of Journal titles in the subject area.
 
QuickLink to Public Health and Community Medicine journals held by UNSW Library.
 
Please note: The Library Resources Database will give you a list containing a brief display of each record. The record will tell you the location and which issues of the journal are held, as well as whether the journal has electronic access. Click on the Title and then "Electronic access" hyperlink to go directly through to the e-journals.
 
Specific Journal Title
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering the journal title in the Search box, changing the drop-down menus from "Keyword All Fields" to "Title Keywords", and Limit by Format to Journals Only. The catalogue tells you the location and which issues of the journal are held, as well as whether the journal has electronic access.

Journals not held in the UNSW Library

Search Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL), by title for specific journals held in other Libraries. Location codes are listed in the Interlibrary Resource Sharing (ILRS) Directory.
 
Please note: Staff and postgraduate students may request interlibrary loans  for materials not held by UNSW Library.