| APAIS - Health |
|
|
[Databases] Indexes material that is a subset of the APAIS database, covering health and medicine in Australia. Clinical articles are not included and the emphasis is on the legal, social ,economic and ethical aspects of health. Documents indexed include journals, newspapers, conference papers and books. It contains 22,000+ records. |
| AMI - Australasian Medical Index |
|
|
[Databases] Produced by The National Library of Australia, this database indexes and abstracts articles from over 100 Australian health and medical serials not indexed for MEDLINE, on all aspects of health and medicine. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and the full text of most National Health and Medical Research Council sessions. (1968+) |
| Sociological Abstracts |
|
|
[Databases] This database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. (1963+) |
| MEDLINE |
|
|
[Databases] coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, and reproductive biology. Over 3900 journals are indexed by this database. For assistance try Medline Online Tutorial. |
| National Academies Press Publications |
|
|
[E-book] Free online access to National Academies Press publications. |
| NSW Public Health Act 1991 |
|
|
[E-document ] Full-text on-line copy. |
| Oxford Textbook of Public Health |
|
|
[E-book] Volume 1, The scope of public health, Volume 2, The methods of public health, and Volume 3, The practice of public health it provides a practical conceptual framework for the presentation of public health issues. |
| Australian Council on Healthcare Standards |
|
|
[Website] It is an independent, not-for-profit organisation, dedicated to improving the quality of health care in Australia through continually reviewing of performance, assessment and accreditation |
| Australian Indigenous HealthInfonet |
|
|
[Website] contribute to improving the health of Australia's Indigenous people by making relevant, high quality knowledge and information |
| Communicable Diseases - Australia |
|
|
[Website] From the Communicable Diseases Network Australia, Communicable Diseases and Environmental Health Branch, and Australian Department of Health and Aged Care. |
| Health Insite |
|
|
[Website] from Commonwealth Dept.of Health and Aged Care. It contains a wide range of up-to-date and quality assessed information on important health topics such as diabetes, cancer, mental health and asthma. |
| Australian Institute of Health and Welfare |
|
|
[Website] The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.
|
| International Committee of the Red Cross |
|
|
[Website] International Committee of the Red Crozss is an independent, neutral organization ensuring humanitarian protection and assistance for victims of war and armed violence |
| Public Health Association of Australia |
|
|
[Website] In Australia, the Public Health Association of Australia Inc (PHAA) provides a forum for the exchange of ideas, knowledge and information on public health. The Association is also involved in advocacy for public health policy, development, research and training.
|
| National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) |
|
|
[Website] The NHMRC is responsible for raising the standard of individual and public health. It does this by fostering health and medical research and training and by monitoring ethical issues relating to health throughout Australia |
| World Health Organization |
|
|
[Website] Nations specialized agency for health. It was established on 7 April 1948. WHO's objective, as set out in its Constitution, is the attainment by all peoples of the highest possible level of health. Health is defined in WHO's Constitution as a state of complete physical, mental and social well-being and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity. |
|
|
|
|
[Database] The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) provides a range statistical services including: collect and report statistical data on all areas of Australian life including demography, labour force, population and housing, business activity building, immigration etc. |
| Australia's Health 2006 |
|
|
[E-document] Nineth biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. |
| WWW Virtual Library - Public Health |
|
|
[Web gateway] The Virtual Library aims to provide an index of quality public health sites and resources. |
| World Health Report 2006 |
| |
[E-document] The World Health Report 2006 - Working together for health contains an expert assessment of the current crisis in the global health workforce and ambitious proposals to tackle it over the next ten years, starting immediately
|