go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Public Health and Community Medicine Subject Guide

Key Resources  | Services/Help | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources


Reference Resources


Print Resources

MBREF614.02105/1 - World health statistics annual. Geneva [Switzerland] : World Health Organization, 1962-
MBREF614.05/27 - Bibliography on smoking and health. Atlanta: U. S. Dept. of Health 1973, 1975-
MBREF614.071194/2 - The Directory of public health and community nutrition training in Australia (2nd ed.) 1997-1998.
MBREF614.4/80C - Control of communicable diseases manual. (16th ed.) American Public Health Association, 1995.
MBREF614.403/1D - A Dictionary of epidemiology (3rd ed.) New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
MBREF614.42/3 - Global health statistics. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1996.
MBREF614.4259/1/(1) - Healthcare handbook. Langdon, France: Favereau & Associates, 1993-
MBREF614.44/59 - Standards for practice. Glebe, N.S.W: Infection Control Association N.S.W, 1992-
MBREF614.5912/1 - Surveillance of cardiovascular mortality in Australia, 1983-1994. Canberra : AIHW, 1997
MBDVD 362.10994/192 - Strategies to  Improve Public Health in Australia 2003 (video) - Examines the aims and advantages of public health,  Australian  national health priority areas,  the principles of the Ottawa Charter,  how health promotion works and why health promotion is more than just advertising.
MBDVD 362.10994/193 - Development of Public Health in Australia 2003 (video) -  Examines the history and development of public health in Australia
MBDVD 614.4294/30 - Variations in Health Status - 2002 (video) - Examines the significant impact of income, region, occupation, race and gender on health. 
The New Public Health, Baum F. 2nd ed. 2002
MB 362.10994/154
World Report on Knowledge for Better Health, WHO 2004
MB 362.1/481

Online Resources

Australian
Australia's Health 2004
Nineth biennial health report of the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare.
Communicable Diseases - Australia
From the Communicable Diseases Network Australia, Communicable Diseases and Environmental Health Branch, and Australian Department of Health and Aged Care.
Health Insite
(from Commonwealth Dept.of Health and Aged Care) - contains a wide range of up-to-date and quality assessed information on important health topics such as diabetes, cancer, mental health and asthma.
ICD-9-CM
3 digit headings (from the NSW Health Department).
NSW Public Health Act 1991
Full-text on-line copy.
NSW Public Health (General) Regulation 2002
Full-text on-line copy.
NSW Public Health (Tobacco) Regulation 1999
Full-text on-line copy.
 
International
Bangkok Charter for Health Promotion
Charter  identifies strategies and commitments required to address determinants of health in a globalised world.
CDC Surveillance Summaries
Produced by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, this site contains information about surveillance findings from CDC programs.
Epi Info
A series of free microcomputer programs from the CDC that provides for easy form and database construction, data entry, and analysis with epidemiologic statistics, maps, and graphs.
Healthy People 2010
Healthy People 2010 challenges individuals, communities, and professionals to take specific steps to ensure that good health, as well as long life, are enjoyed by all.It is supported by Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, U.S.Department of Health and Human Services.
Jakarta Declaration
4th International Conference on Health promotion held in Jakarta.
MIMS Online
MIMS offers convenient access to essential information on over 2,300 prescription and non-prescription drugs.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
(MMWR) - produced by CDC, this publication contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments, and reports covering a wide variety of human issues related to health.
Ottawa Charter
1st International Conference on Health Promotion (Ottawa, Canada, November 1986).
World Health Organisation - Atlas of  Heart Disease and Stroke
The atlas addresses the global epidemic of heart disease and stroke in a clear and accessible format. This highly valuable reference material has been designed for use by policy makers, national and international organizations, health professionals and the general public.
World Health Report 2005
This year's report 'Make Every Mother and Child Count' discusses the need for wider use of key interventions and a "continuium of care" approach for mother and child.