go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Public Health and Community Medicine Subject Guide


Internet Links | Organisations | Statistics | Texts |

Texts


E-books on Public Health

Oxford Textbook of Public Health
Volume 1, The scope of public health,
Volume 2, The methods of public health
Volume 3, The practice of public health
provides a practical conceptual framework for the presentation of public health issues
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is Australia 's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information, targets to improve the health and well-being of Australians. AIHW produces authoritative and comprehensive publications about key health and welfare issues in Australia , more than 80 reports and working paper each year, and most of them are available free online. They include the most popular titles:
Australia's Health
Australia's Welfare
-
and other related titles like
- Australian Health Trends 2001
- Development of National Public Health Indicators: Discussion Paper
- Health, Wellbeing and Body Weight
- Meeting the National Needs for Public Health Information
- National Public Health Expenditure Report 2000-01
- National Public Health Information Development Plan
- State of Play of Expenditure on Public Health by Australian Governments
- Social Health Atlas of Australia
and a lot more...
The document examines the social gradient in health, and explains how psychological and social influences affect physical health and longevity. It then looks at what is known about the most important social determinants of health today, and the role that public policy can play in shaping a social environment that is more conducive to better health.
established by the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing. PHIDU is committed to the development of an integrated health information system in Australia that can provide information on a broad range of health determinants across the life course. Publications available include:
- Social Health Atlases,
- Australian Health Measurement Survey (AHMS) Working Paper Series,
- Other Working Paper series such as Social capital and social capital indicators: a reading list; and, Nationwide monitoring and surveillance question development: Asthma

- Occasional Paper Series such as
Psychiatrists in Private Practice in Australia and The impact of socioeconomic status; and, geographic location on Indigenous mortality in Australia.
etc.
Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing Publications
The Department's vision is to "provide better health and active ageing for all Australians". The departmental publications and corporate information which are relevant in the public health context are available online. Publications include:
- An Overview of Health Status, Health Care and Public Health in Australia [pdf document]
Medicare statistics
and a lot more.
NSWHEALTH Publications
The NSW Department of Health monitors the performance of the NSW public health system and supports the statutory role of the NSW Minister for Health. NSW Health publishes a wide range of materials that are available to the public. These include reports, brochures, pamphlets and factsheets. Electronic publications includes:
- Adult Health Survey 2002, NSW Health
Birth Defects Register Annual Reports
Framework for Managing the Quality of Health Services in NSW
Health and Equity in New South Wales
- Immunisation Strategy 2003-2006, NSW
Mothers and Babies 2002 Report
Optimising Cancer Management: Discussion Paper
Pharmaceutical Health
Report on the weight status of NSW: 2003
Strategy for Population Health Surveillance in New South Wales
Water and Public Health

and much more.
WHO Publications on Water, Sanitation and Health
Full text publications on all aspects of water and sanitation from the World Health Organisation, including: Guidelines for Drinking Water Quality, Safe management of wastes from healthcare activities, Water and sanitation related diseases fact sheets and many others.
FreeBooks4Doctors (Public Health Speciality)
it has approx 600 books listed by specialty. FreeBooks4Doctors! is dedicated to the promotion of free access to medical books over the Internet.  

E-books on related medical knowledge

AccessLange
a Collection of Full text electronic books covering Basic and Clinical Sciences which includes the following titles:
Ebert:Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Psychiatry
Ganong:Review of Medical Physiology
Gomella:Clinician's Pocket Reference
Greenberg:Medical Epidemiology
Hay:Current Pediatric Diagnosis and Treatment
Katzung:Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
Murray:Harper's Biochemistry
McPhee:Pathophysiology of Disease, An Introduction to Clinical Medicine
Tanagho:Smith's General Urology
Vaughan:General Ophthalmology
Way:Current Surgical Diagnosis & Treatment
and more...
**Please also see the “Resource Center” in the AccessLANGE website which
feature current health topics like SARS and Bioterrorism
Books@OVID
a Collection of full text electronic books on various medical topics including the follows:
Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease
New Oxford Textbook of Psychiatry
Oxford Textbook of Geriatric Medicine
Oxford Textbook of Medicine
Oski's Pediatrics
and more...
Clinical Evidence
Clinical Evidence is produced by the BMJ Publishing Group and is frequently updated. It provides a concise account of the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature.
Harrisons Online
Updated daily, the site delivers the complete text, illustrations, and expanded features from the 15th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, including additional references, many links to MEDLINE™® abstracts, and important information from emerging fields.
Merck Manuals
This website covers Merck Manual of Medical Information, Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, Merck Manual of Geriatrics, Merck Veterinary Manual, Merck Index
StatNotes: Online Textbook
An Online Textbook, by G. David Garson, who is Professor of Public Administration, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, North Carolina State University.
Virtual Hospital Multimedia Textbooks
Virtual Hospital digital library contains thousands of textbooks and booklets for health care providers and patients
NCBI BookShelf

Related Specific Topics

Street Drug Reference Guide
Online reference on commonly used street drugs.  
SARSReference.com
An online textbook containing up-to-date information about SARS
Australian Immunisation Handbook. (2003) 8th ed.
The Australian Immunisation Handbook 8th Edition 2003 was approved by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) on 18 September 2003.
Current Protocols
provides searchable collection of Wiley InterScienceOnlineBook titles that covers some relevant topics, such as Current Protocols of Immunology.