go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Course Planning image
Course Planning Subject Guide



Journals

High Impact Journals
These journals have been selected using Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a resource tool for journal evaluation. According to JCR, these journals have a high impact on the literature of this particular subject area (Education and Educational research) when compared with other journals in the field.
Review of educational research
 
Print: S 370.6/28 Vol. 1 (1931)-current
Full text available online from Vol.58, no.4 (Winter 1988) onward
American educational research journal
 
Print: S 370.7805/7 Vol. 6 (1969)-current
Full text available online from Vol.38, no.4 (Winter 2001) onward
Reading research quarterly
Print: S 372.405/7 Vol. 11, no. 1 (1975/76)-v. 26, no. 4 (1991); SQ 372.405/7 Vol. 27, no. 1 (1992)- current
Full text available online from Vol.32, No.1 (Jan-Mar 1997) onward
The Journal of the learning sciences
Print Only: S 371.10207005/1 Vol. 1, no. 1 (1991)-current
 
Recommended Journals
IIEP newsletter (International Institute for Educational Planning)
Print: SQ 371.20705/1 No. 1 (June 1983) - current
Open access full text available online at the IIEP website from 1996 onward.
Journal of educational and behavioral statistics 
Print: S 370.21205/2 Vol. 19, no. 3 (fall 1994)-v. 27, no. 4 (winter 2002)
Full text available online from Vol.26, no.4 (Winter 2001) onward
Measurement and evaluation in counseling and development (Online)
Full text available online from Vol.30, no.1 (Apr 1997) onward, delayed 18months.
Studies In Educational Evaluation
Full text available online from Vol.21, no.1 (1995) onward
 
Open Access E-Journals
EdNA online newsletters
EdNA Online produces a number of newsletters to support different areas of the education and training community, which contain information from a wide variety of sources both within Australia and internationally.
explores the impact of information technologies on higher education, published by EDUCAUSE (international)
provided by the University of Illinois and the University of Western Australia
published by Centre for the Advancement of Teaching and Learning at the Unversity of Western Australia
Journal of Educational Technology and Society
published by International Forum of Educational Technology & Society, endorsed by the Technical Committee on Learning Technology of the IEEE Computer Society.
Journal of Technology Education
The JTE provides a forum for scholarly discussion on topics relating to technology education. Published by the Council of Technology Teacher Education and the International Technology Education Association (US).
Innovate: Journal of Online Education
 
Innovate is a bimonthly, peer-reviewed online periodical published by Nova Southeastern University. It focuses on the creative use of information technology (IT) to enhance educational processes. Free subscription.

Journals held in the UNSW Library Collection

Specific Journal Title
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering the journal title in the search box, changing the drop-down menus from All Fields to Title and Material Type to Serials.
 
Journals by Subject Area
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering appropriate subject terms (e.g. medical education, health education, vocational education, professional education) in the search box, changing the drop down menu from All Fields to Subject and Material Type to Serials.
 
Quick Link to Vocational and Professional Educational journals held by UNSW Library
Quick Link to Medical/Health Educational journals held by UNSW Library
 
Please note: The Library Resources Database will give you a list containing a brief display of each record. The record will tell you the location and which issues of the journal are held, as well as whether the journal has electronic access. Click on the Title and then "Electronic access" hyperlink to go directly through to the e-journal.

Journals not held in the UNSW Library

Search Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL) , by title for specific journals held in other Libraries. Location codes are listed in the Interlibrary Resource Sharing (ILRS) Directory
 
Please note: Staff and postgraduate students may request interlibrary loans for materials not held by UNSW Library