go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Course Planning image
Course Planning Subject Guide

Key Resources | Services & Help | Databases | Journals | Course Resources


Course Resources


Course Design

A Handbook for Medical Teachers
[Book] by Newble, David & Cannon, Robert. (1994). Third Edition. Kluwer Academic Publishers, Dordrecht.
Designing Courses for Higher Education
[Book] by Toohey, S. (1999). The Society for Research  into Higher Education & Open University Press, UK.
Designing Effective Instruction
[Book] by Kemp, J., Morrison, G. & Ross, S. (1998). Second Edition. Merrill, Prentice-Hall Inc. New Jersey.
Instructional Design
[Book] by Smith, P.L. & Ragan, T.J.(1992). Merrill, New York.
Instructional design
[Book] by Sweller, John, (1999).  ACER Press, Camberwell, Vic.
Instructional Design: Principles and Applications
  [Book] by Briggs, Leslie J., Gustafson, K.L., Tillman, M. H., Eds. (1991). Second Edition. Educational Technology Publications, Englewod Cliffs, New Jersey.
Principles of Instructional Design
[Book] by Gagne Robert M & Briggs Leslie J. (1988)  3rd Edition. Holt, Rinehart and Winston, New York, 1979.
Designing Effective Instruction
  [Book] by Kemp, J., Morrison, G. & Ross, S. (1998). Second Edition. Merrill, Prentice-Hall Inc. New Jersey.
Developing Courses for Students
[Book] by Rowntree, D (1981). Maidenhead: McGraw Hill: Chapter 4 on teaching methods and media.
This chapter takes an unconventional look at media before it considers methods (=strategies), but nevertheless contains some useful advice.
The Instructional Design Process
[Book] by Kemp, Jerrold E. (1985).  Harper & Row, New York.
The selection and use of instructional media : for improved classroom teaching and for interactive, individualized instruction
[Book] by Romiszowski, A.J., 1988. 2nd ed. Kogan Page; Nichols Pub., London: New York.
The systematic design of instruction
  [Book] by Dick, Walter and Carey, Lou., (1996). 4th ed. HarperCollins College Publishers, NY.
Teaching Through Self-Instruction: How to Develop Open Learning Material
  [Book] by Rowntree, D. (1990).  Revised Edition. Kogan Page, London; Nichols Publishing, New York.

Learning Outcomes

Design of University Courses and Subjects: A Strategic Approach
  [Book] by Foster, G (1993). Herdsa Green Guide No 15, Herdsa, Campbelltown NSW.
EDTec's Teaching quality principles
[Website] by EdTec of UNSW. Six principles that underlie good quality teaching. Principles two to five relate to the selection and design of teaching strategies.
Guide to Developing Learning Outcomes
  [Book] by Bingham, R (1999). The Learning and Teaching Institute, Sheffield Hallam University, Sheffield UK. (Not held in UNSW Library)
Learning outcomes in higher education
  [Journal article] by Allen, J (1996). Studies in Higher Education, 21(1), 93-108.
Taxonomy of educational objectives: the classification of educational goals
[Book] edited by Bloom, BS et al. (1956) Longman Group, London.
Teaching for Quality Learning at University
 
[Book] by Biggs, J. (1999).  Buckingham SRHE & Open University Press.
This is an excellent introductory text. Biggs is one of the leaders in the field.

Teaching Strategies & Learning Activities

General
Effective Teaching in Higher Education
[Book] by Brown, G. and M. Atkins (1993). London, Routledge.
This is a good general introduction to teaching in higher education, with chapters on lecturing, small group teaching, laboratory teaching and research and project supervision.
Handbook of clinical teaching: exercises and guidleines for health professionals who teach patients, train staff or supervise students.
  [Book] by Watts, Nancy T. (1990). Churchill Livingstone, Edinburgh; New York.
The Higher Education Academy (UK)
[Website] This is a major UK website, organised into a generic site and into discipline specific sites, containing resources that support the development of good teaching approaches.
Preparing to Teach
  [Book]  by Gibbs, G. & Habeshaw, T. (1992). Technical and Educational Services Ltd, Bristol.
Teaching Tips: strategies, research and theory for college and university teachers
  [Book] by McKeachie, W. J. (1994). Lexington, MA, D. C. Heath and Company.
McKeachie has chapters on almost all teaching strategies, including lecturing, discussions, experiential learning, peer and collaborative learning, project methods, case studies, games, simulations and role plays.
 
Lectures
The Active Learning Site
[Website] hosted by Dr. Charles Bonwell, Active Learning Workshop. It provides a variety of resources includes toolkits, active learning research summaries, bibliographies and internet links.
Lecturing: Case Studies, Experience and Practice
[Book] by Edwards, H., B. Smith, et al., Eds. (2001). London, Kogan Page. (Not held in UNSW Library)
This recent book contains chapters written by practising lecturers on issues including: key competencies for lecturing, orchestrating learning in lectures, dealing with feedback, and on living your values in lectures (authenticity). There is material here on many of the issues and dilemmas that lecturers face.
The Lecturer's Toolkit
  [Book] by Race, P. (2001) 2nd Edition. Kogan Page, UK.
UNSW Guidelines on Learning
[Website] provided by the UNSW Learning and Teaching Unit (LTU).
 
Small Group Teaching
Conducting tutorials
[Book] by Lublin, J. (1987). Kensington, HERDSA.
A short, old and standard guide to conducting tutorials.
Discussion as a Way of Teaching: Tools and Techniques for University Teachers
[Book] by Brookfield, S. D. and S. Preskill (1999). Buckingham, UK, SRHE & Open University Press. (Not held in UNSW Library)
Brookfield is an immensely sensible author with an easy to read style. His specialty is adult learning where the focus is on student learning and on student experiences. This book is a thorough account of discussion approaches: including sections on preparation, getting discussions going, questioning and listening, group techniques, cultural diversity, gender issues and so on.
Learning in groups
 
[EdTeC website] Brooks, R, Scoufis, M, and McAlpine I. (Undated)
This brief local guide contains some useful material on setting up and running group learning activities.
Learning in Groups
[Book] by Jacques, D. (2000) . 4th ed. London, Kogan Page. (Not held in UNSW Library but  an earlier version is available).
This is the classic work on small group teaching, with almost every aspect addressed. Jaques is particularly good at presenting ways of using groups creatively.
Talking To Learn: improving teaching and learning in small groups
[Book] by Abercrombie, M. L. J. and P. M. Terry (1978). Surrey, Society for Research into Higher Education. (Not held in UNSW Library)
 
Problem Based Learning
Center for problem based learning research and communications at Samford University.
[Website] This site contains a range of downloadable resources on problem based learning.
The Challenge of Problem- Based Learning
  [Book] edited by Boud, D. and G. E. Feletti, (1997). London, Kogan Page Ltd.
This is a classic text on Problem Based Learning. It contains chapters by authors working with PBL and addressing the issues it raises.
The PBL directory
[Website] This site lists 120 courses from 20 countries, with details on how a range of PBL issues are handled. Useful if you are thinking of using PBL techniques in a course or program.

Educational Technology

See also the  Educational Technology Subject Guide
E-tivities: The Key to Active Online Learning 
[Book] by Salmon, G. (2002) London : Kogan Page.
E-moderating: The Key to Teaching and Learning Online
[Book] by Salmon, G. (2003). London. New York : RoutledgeFalmer.
Rethinking University Teaching: A Framework for the Effective Use of Educational Technology
[Book] by Laurillard, D. (1993).  London, Routledge.
A classic text now, Laurillard's book presents a framework built on research into student learning that can be used to help guide the use and selection of educational media and technologies. Written unfortunately just before the impact of the world wide web became prominent, this book contains useful guidelines that can be adapted to online teaching as much as to other forms of educational technology.

Assessment

Assessing Open and Distance Learners
  [Book] by Morgan, C. and O'Reilly, M. (1999)  Kogan Page, UK.
Assessment of Learning 
[Website] A useful internet resource on assessment in higher education provided by The Higher Education Academy  in UK, especially the section on "Audits, Tools and Resources"
Assessing Learning in Universities
 
[Book] by Nightingale, P., Tewiata, I., Toohey, S., Ryan, G., Huges, C., and Magin, D. (1996)