go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

sports medicine image
Sports Medicine Subject Guide




Databases

AMI - Australasian Medical Index
Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE.  Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+
AUSPORT 
  produced by the Australian Sports Commission - all aspects of sport
AUSPORTMED 
  AusportMed is produced by the National Sport Information Centre in the Australian Sports Commission. It indexes articles on all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. AusportMed is a subset of the Australian Sport Database (AUSPORT), which covers material on all aspects of Australian sport. 1989+
CINAHL 
allied health literature including physiotherapy and rehabilitation
Cochrane Library 
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. National access to the Cochrane Library is funded by the Commonwealth Government of Australia - click on "Login anonymously" button. The NICS Guide to the Cochrane Library is also available.
 
The Cochrane Library contains the following EBM databases:
  • The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
  • Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
  • The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
  • The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
  • The Cochrane Methodology Register References
  • Collaborative Review Groups
  • Methods Groups
  • Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
  • NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
CURRENT CONTENTS
Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books.
EMBASE
  The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+
Expanded Academic ASAP
Expanded Academic ASAP is a multidisciplinary, full text database that indexes literature from arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Includes articles from scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers. 1980+
Meditext 
Meditext is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of health and medicine. It is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia. 1980+
MEDLINE via ovid
Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline also available. 1966+
PSYCINFO
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and the law. 1887+
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus, produced by Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC) in Canada, indexes information on all aspects of sport including sports medicine, biomechanics, exercise physiology, health and physical education, motor learning, physical fitness and health, physical therapy, recreation and leisure, social sciences and sport, sport engineering, sport psychology, sports and disabled populations.1830+
WEB OF SCIENCE
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index. 1945+
Journal Citation Reports
  Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area.