| |

|
 |
Surgery Subject Guide
Databases
| Medline via OVID |
| |
Medline is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index. Medline contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals. An Online tutorial for Medline is also available. 1966+ |
| AMI |
| |
Australasian Medical Index (AMI), produced by the National Library of Australia, indexes and abstracts articles from over 160 Australasian health and medical serials. Most of these are not indexed for MEDLINE. Subject coverage includes all aspects of health and medicine, with an emphasis on clinical medicine and paraprofessional fields. Source documents include journals, conference proceedings, government reports, selected monographs and National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) session reports. 1968+ |
| Cochrane Library |
| |
The Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based medicine databases. It contains the following:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Complete reviews
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness Abstracts of quality assessed systematic reviews
- The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
- The Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews Complete reviews
- The Cochrane Methodology Register References
- Collaborative Review Groups
- Methods Groups
- Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA) Abstracts by INAHTA and other healthcare technology agencies
- NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED)
For alternative access, please use the following Ovid databases:
|
| EMBASE |
| |
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. 1988+ |
| Meditext |
| |
Meditext is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of health and medicine. It is based on the journal indexing of the database Australasian Medical Index (AMI), which is produced by the National Library of Australia. 1980+ |
| PUBMED |
|
|
PubMed is a service of the National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources. NOTE: links to journals subscribed to by UNSW may not work via PUBMED, to ensure you have access to UNSW electronic journals, use Medline via OVID or consult the LRD. |
| SPORTDiscus |
| |
SPORTDiscus, produced by Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC) in Canada, indexes information on all aspects of sport including sports medicine and related surgery.1830+
|
Related Databases
| Biological Abstracts |
| |
Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a key database for life sciences literature. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, as well as related fields such as medicine, bioengineering and surgey. 1969+ |
| Biomed Central |
| |
Biomed Central is an alternative publishing consortium that promotes open access in scholarly fulltext electronic publishing. Fully peer reviewed. Includes surgery journals. Covers research articles, hypotheses papers, case reports, debates, study protocols, methodology articles, clinical trials, current reports, meetings. |
| Current Contents |
|
|
Current Contents is a multidisciplinary current awareness resource, providing access to complete bibliographic information from over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books. |
| Journal Citation Reports |
|
|
Journal Citation Reports (JCR), published by ISI, is a resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide. Useful for finding out which journals are making an impact on the literature of a particular subject area. |
| PEDro |
|
|
The Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) has been developed by the Centre for Evidence based Physiotherapy based at the School of Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. It aims to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Includes material on surgical rehabilitation. |
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Web of Science |
| |
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+ |
|
|