go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Image of caduseus
Surgery Subject Guide

 Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links 
 Organisations | Images & Multimedia | Texts | Current Awareness  

Journals

High Impact Journals
These journals have been selected using Journal Citation Reports (JCR), a resource tool for journal evaluation. According to JCR, these journals have a high impact on the literature of this particular subject area when compared with other journals in the field.
Annals of surgery
 
Full text available online from Vol 223, issue 1 (1996)-
Print: MB Vol. 4 (1886)-v. 96 (1932) ; v. 108 (1938)-v. 238, no. 6 (Dec. 2003)
American journal of surgical pathology
 
Full text available online from Vol.20, issue 1 (1996)-
Annals of surgical oncology
Full text available online from Vol.6, issue 1 (1999)-
British journal of surgery
Full text available online from Vol.82, issue 1 (1995)-
Print: MB Vol. 1 (July 1913/Apr. 1914)-v. 89, no. 12 (Dec. 2002)
 
Other Recommended Journals
American Journal of Surgery
 
Full text available online from Vol. 169, issue1 (1995)-
Print: MB Vol. 9 (1930)-v. 12 (1931) ; v. 29 (1935)-v. 32 (1936) incomplete ; v. 41 (1938)-v.178, no. 6 (Dec. 1999)
ANZ Journal of Surgery
 
Full text available online from Vol.68, issue:12 (1998)-
Print: MB Vol. 71 (Jan. 2001)-v. 72, no. 12 (Dec. 2002)
BMJ
 
Full text available online from  Vol. 308, issue: 6920 (1994)-
Print: MB [under British Medical Journal] July 1878-June 1914 ; 1920-1980 Incomplete ; Vol. 282, no. 6257 (Jan. 3, 1981)-v. 296, no. 6639 (25 June 1988); [under BMJ] Vol. 297, no. 6640 (July 1988)-
Gut
 
Full text available online from  Vol. 36, issue 1 (1995)-
Print: MB Vol. 1 (1960)-v. 48, no. 6 (June 2001) ;
Note: Vol. 49, no 1 (July 2001)-v. 52, no. 11 (Nov. 2003) in Remote storage. Ask at Information Desk
Lancet
 
Full text available online from  Vol. 1, issue 1 (1823)-
Print: MB Vol. 2 (Jul./Dec. 1867)-v. 366, no. 9503 (Dec. 17, 2005) Incomplete
 
Open Access E-Journals
BMC Surgery / BioMed Central
Canadian Journal of Surgery / Canadian Medical Association
International seminars in surgical oncology /  BioMed Central
Neurosurgical focus / Published by the Journal of Neurosurgery and American Association of Neurological Surgeons
The Surgeon / The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh

Journals held in the UNSW Library Collection

Searching for a Specific Journal Title
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering the journal title in the search box, changing the "Field to search" drop-down menu from Keyword all fields to Title Keyword. Select the Journals Only button next to "Limit to Format".
 
Searching for Journals by Subject Area
Search the UNSW Library Resources Database by entering appropriate subject terms in the Keywords box, and leave the drop-down menu on Keyword all fields. Select the Journals Only button next to "Limit to Format".
 
Quick Link to Surgery journals held by UNSW Library
Please note: The Library Resources Database will give you a list containing a brief display of each record. 
 
For electronic journals: Click on the "Online Access" link to go through to the SFX page. This will list all the different e-versions of this journal. Click on the red button to link to the full text.
 
For print journals: Click on the "Print Holdings" link to display the shelf location of this journal and the volumes/issues that UNSW Library has in its collection.

Journals not held in the UNSW Library

Search Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL) , by title for specific journals held in other Libraries. Location codes are listed in the Interlibrary Resource Sharing (ILRS) Directory
 
Please note: Staff and postgraduate students may request interlibrary loans for materials not held by UNSW Library