go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Image of Caduseus
Surgery Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Reference Resources


Atlases

Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 engravings from the classic 1918 publication by Henry Gray, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries
Upper Extremity Muscle Atlas
Anatomical atlas of the muscles of the upper extremities of the human body by Michael L. Richardson, M.D. from the University of Washington
Lower Extremity Muscle Atlas
Anatomical atlas of the muscles of the lower extremities of the human body by Michael L. Richardson, M.D. from the University of Washington by Michael L. Richardson, M.D. from the University of Washington
Interactive Atlas of Thoracic Viscera
The Interactive Atlas of Thoracic Viscera includes radiologic images and 3D computer animations. Produced by David M. Conley and Cornelius Rosse from the University of Washington
Zollinger's atlas of surgical operations
Print only: MBQ 617.0022/1

Dictionaries and Encyclopaedias

MedlinePLUS Medical Encyclopedia
The Adam Health Illustrated Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary Online
From MEDLINEplus Health Information
Oxford Reference Online - Subject Dictionaries
Includes many relevant reference works such as: The Oxford Companion to the Body; Concise Medical Dictionary

Directories


Handbooks and Guidelines

Guidelines and Position Papers / Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
  "As a fellowship based organisation, the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons commits to ensuring the highest standard of safe and comprehensive surgical care for the community we serve through excellence in surgical education, training, professional development and support".
Washington Manual Surgery Survival Guide
  Print only: MB 617/224
see also Evidence Based Medicine - Guidelines

Other Online Resources

Acute Care Best Practice
The Acute Care Best Practice Project is an initiative of NSW Health. The Acute Care Implementation Working Group (ACIWG) found that many common medical procedures were performed very differently from hospital to hospital. The project looked at five high volume surgical procedures. Similarities and differences in hospital processes were examined.
Australian Hospital Statistics 2003-2004 / Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
  Included are statistics on admissions to public and private hospitals in 2003-04, covering the age and sex of patients, diagnoses, procedures, lengths of stay and waiting times for elective surgery.
Current Surgical Workforce / Royal Australasian College of Physicians
  These tables detail the current surgical workforce, providing a breakdown by region, specialty and gender.