| |

|
 |
Zoology Subject Guide
Australian Databases
| Agriculture and Natural Resources Index: ANR-Index (2000+) |
| |
An index to the literature of agriculture and the food industry in Australia - includes information on fisheries, ecology, conservation and animal health |
| Agriculture and Natural Resources Index: ANR-Index Archive (1975-2000) |
|
|
An archive of literature from the ANR database |
| Agriculture and Natural Resources Research: ANR-Research (2000+) |
|
|
A database that describes current and recently completed research projects across the agriculture and natural resources areas including sustainability, ecology and animal health. |
| Agriculture and Natural Resources Research: ANR-Research Archive (1984-present) |
|
|
An archive of completed research from the ANR-Research database |
| AHB |
|
|
Australian Heritage Bibliography (AHB) database, produced by the Australian Heritage Commission, indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subject coverage includes national parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites. 1987+ |
| CARRP |
| |
Completed Australian Rural Research Projects (CARRP), produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd, is a research database that contains completed and archived research and development projects from the ARRIP database in the areas of primary production and processing, including agriculture, horticulture, forestry, fisheries, food technology and land, and water and vegetation resources. 1984+ |
| ELIXIR |
| |
NRE's Electronic LIbrary eXchange for Information Resources (ELIXIR), produced by the Library and Information Services Unit of the Victorian Department of Natural Resources and Environment, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts books, reports, theses, video recordings, manuscripts and pictorial matter in departmental libraries and regional collections. Subject coverage includes natural resources and environment ecology, conservation, forestry, national parks, botany, horticulture, pest control, plant control, animal control, aquaculture, fisheries, marine studies; environmental engineering; natural resources. 1990+ |
| ENDANGER |
| |
Threatened Species in Australia: A Select Bibliography (ENDANGER), produced by the Deakin University School of Aquatic Sciences & Natural Resources Management, is a bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian threatened flora and fauna and related topics. 1960+ |
| EVA |
|
|
Environmental Abstracts (EVA) database is produced by the EPA Victoria Library. It is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. 1990+ |
| REEF |
| |
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Province Database (REEF), produced by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. 1990+ |
| SAGE |
|
|
Science and Geography Education (SAGE) database indexes popular journals on a broad range of subjects. Most journals indexed are Australian. SAGE began as part of CSIRO's commitment to the effective dissemination of the results of scientific research. It is suitable for use by lower tertiary students. 1990+ |
| STREAMLINE |
| |
Australia's Natural Resources Database (STREAMLINE), produced by Infoscan Pty Ltd for the Land and Water Resources Research and Development Corporation and the Urban Water Research Association of Australia, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of natural resource management. Subjects cover the sustainable management of land, vegetation and water resources. 1990+ |
International Databases
| AGRICOLA |
|
|
AGRICultural OnLine Access (AGRICOLA) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (US). Subject coverage includes agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. 1970+ |
| Ant Bibliography (FORMIS) |
|
|
FORMIS is a composite of several ant literature databases. It is published by the US Dept of Agriculture. It contains citations for a large fraction of the world's ant literature (about 32,000 references). FORMIS contains all known ant taxonomic literature (through 1996). It also contains comprehensive bibliographies of leaf-cutting ants, fire ants, and Russian wood ants. FORMIS was last updated in 2003, so it is not a source for the most recent ant literature. |
| ASFA |
|
|
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) database is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners. It contains Part 1, Biological sciences and living resources; Part 2, Ocean technology, policy and non-living resources; and: Part 3, Aquatic pollution and environmental quality. 1971+ |
| Biological Abstracts |
| |
Biological Abstracts, produced by BIOSIS, is a key database for life sciences literature. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology and ecology. Interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology are also included. 1969+ |
| CAB Abstracts |
| |
CAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB International (CABI). It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.1973+ |
| Entrez |
| |
Entrez: the Life Sciences Search Engine, produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), provides integrated access to nucleotide and protein sequence data from >130,000 organisms, along with 3D protein structures, genomic mapping information, PubMed MEDLINE, and more. |
| General Science Full Text |
| |
General Science Full Text, published by WilsonWeb, indexes literature from a broad range of scientific subject areas including: Astronomy; Atmospheric Science; Biology; Botany; Chemistry; Conservation; Earth Science; Environment; Food & Nutrition; Genetics; Health & Medicine; Mathematics; Microbiology; Oceanography; Physics; Physiology; Zoology. 1984+ |
| Geobase |
|
|
Geobase, published by Elsevier, is a bibliographic database providing access to information for development studies, the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. 1980+ |
| Oceanic Abstracts |
| |
Oceanic Abstracts, published by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, indexes literature on a range of ocean related subjects, including: marine biology; physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. 1981+ |
| Primatelit |
|
|
The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to present |
| SCANFile |
| |
SCANfile, produced by the CSIRO Corporate Library and Information Service, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on science/technology policy and R&D/general management. Subject coverage includes all aspects of human resource management, S&T and R&D management, social and economic implications of scientific innovation, science and technology policy, planning and evaluation, and technology transfer. 1978+ |
| Scopus |
|
|
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
|
| Web of Science |
| |
Web of Science, published by Thomson ISI, provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 journals. This database also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. It is made up of a suite of databases, including Science Citation Index 1945+ |
| Zoological Record |
| |
Zoological Record, currently published by BIOSIS, and jointly with the Zoological Society of London until 2003, is a comprehensive index to zoological literature. Subject coverage includes: zoology, taxonomy, nomenclature, genetics, animal behaviour, systematics, breeding, biology, evolutionary ecology, dairy science 1978+ |
|
|