go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Aboriginal Art Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Art Abstracts
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 Art Full Text
  Based on Art Abstracts with full text coverage for selected journals from 1997 onwards.
Art Index Retrospective
  A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984.
 Art Bibliographies Modern
  Abstracts of the current literature of Modern Art, Architecture, Photography and Design sourced from journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, dissertations and exhibition reviews.
 ARTEX
  Indexes more than 4 000 Australian art exhibition catalogues from 1990-1997.
 AustArt Index
  Includes references to articles, exhibition reviews and reproductions of work by Australian artists and overseas artists exhibiting in Australia from 1987 onwards.
 Australian Art Auction Records
  The largest and most up-to-date database of Australian and New Zealand paintings sold at auction, from 1973 to date. Includes data on sales records, artist biographical information and auction companies. Only sold paintings and "hammer prices" are listed.
 Bibliography of the History of Art
  Covering European and American art from antiquity to the present, BHA indexes and abstracts books, journals, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition catalogues.
 CoFA Multimedia Database
  Consists of the following indexes: Video/DVD, CD-i (interactive CDs), CDs, Audiocasettes, Newspaper Clippings and Ephemera.
 Design and Applied Arts Index
  International index to design and craft journals, currently containing nearly 120 000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published from 1973 to the present and data on nearly 50 000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops and organisations.
Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
 NATSIVAD
  Provides information on more than 1 500 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists.  Access via AVAD.
OzBiogs
  Compilation of biographical information from 3 databases, NATSIVAD, AustArt and ARTEX, plus additional biographical data sourced by Discovery Media.

Related Databases

 APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service
  Multidisciplinary databases. Comprehensively indexes over 220 Australian newspapers, journals, conference proceedings and books.  From 1978 onwards.
 APAFT: APAIS Full Text
  The APAIS database, including full text of selected journals from the mid 1990s onwards.
APAIS: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset
  Indexes and abstracts articles from pubished and unpublished material that specifically relates to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the social sciences and humanities area, including history, economics, polititcs, current affairs and culture.
 AGIS: Attorney General's Information Service - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset
  Contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Source documents include over 120 Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom.
 AHB: Australian Heritage Bibliography
  Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Austalia's natural and cultural environment.
AHB ATSIS: Australian Heritage Bibliography Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset
  AHB ATSIS contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.  Source documents include journal articles, unpublished reports, books, videos and conference proceedings from many different sources around Australia. Emphasis is placed on reports written or commissioned by government and non-government heritage agencies throughout the country.
 Expanded Academic ASAP
  A multidisciplinary international database covering from 1980 to the present, including full text articles from selected journals.
 Indigenous Australia
  The Indigenous Australia database represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library. Indigenous Australia is a bibliographic database and includes abstracts for all videos, and some monographs and articles.  Source documents also include speeches, conference papers, parliamentary information, cases, commonwealth gazettes and media releases. 
 Indigenous Studies Bibliography
  The Indigenous Studies Bibliography (AIATSIS), compiled at the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies.  Source documents include journal articles, newspapers, pamphlets, published government reports, published conference papers, book chapters, books, discussion and working papers, and published statistical documents.
 Libraries Australia (Kinetica)
  Provides access to several datatbases, most importantly the National Bibliographic Database, which contains over 9 million bibliographic records of titles held in over 800 Australian libraries.
Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander subset
MAIS is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues. The MAIS-ATSIS subset contains records that specifically relate to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.  Source documents include books, book chapters, journal articles, selected newspaper articles, government documents, conference papers, research reports, theses and multimedia.
Scopus
 
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.