go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Aboriginal Art Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Dictionaries

Artlex art dictionary
  The Artlex Dictionary is designed for "artists, collectors, students and educators in art production, criticism, history, aesthetics and education".
The Dictionary of Australian artists :painters, sketchers, photographers and engravers to 1870.  1992 
  Print: CFAREF 709.94/7
Dictionary of Australian Artists Online
The foundation data focuses predominantly on Colonial artists; women artists to 1950; black and white artists; Aboriginal artists of the Western Desert and the Sydney region.
Encarta
  The Encarta Reference website includes access to the Encarta dictionary, encyclopedia, atlas and other reference products.
Oxford Art Online
  Print: CFAREF 703/9 /(1-34)
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
Oxford reference online
  Oxford reference online offers access to the full compliment of Oxford reference products including a dictionary, thesaurus, subject refernces and more.

Encyclopedias

The Continuum encyclopedia of native art :worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and North America.  2000
  Print: CFAREF 704.03/1
Encarta
  The Encarta Reference website includes access to the Encarta dictionary, encyclopedia, atlas and other reference products.
Encyclopaedia.com
The Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia :Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, society and culture.  1994
  Print: CFAREF 305.8991503/1 /(1-2)
The new McCulloch’s encyclopedia of Australian art. 2006
  Print: CFAREF 709.9403/5A

Handbooks

Artists & galleries of Australia.  1990
  Print: CFAREF 709.9403/8 /(1-2)
Heritage: the national women's art book.  1995
  Print: CFAREF 709.22/19
How to, where to : how to do an arts project, where to get help.
Strawberry Hills, N.S.W. : Australia Council for the Arts, 2004
  Print: CFAREF 700.994/AUS/10
International directory of arts
Berlin : Kaupterverlag, current edition
  print: CFAREF 700.25/1
The  Oxford companion to Aboriginal art and culture.  2000
  Print: CFAREF 709.94/AAA/2

Search for Aboriginal Art material in the UNSW Library Resources Database