go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Australian Art Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 AKL Online: World Biographical Dictionary of Artists
  Künstlerlexikon der Antike (Dictionary of Artists of the Classical World) and volumes 1-43 of the Allgemeines Kunstlerlexicon Internationale (World Biographical Dictionary of Artists) together in one site.
 Art Abstracts
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
Art Full Text
  Art Full Text, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world.
Art Index Retrospective
  Art Index Retrospective, produced by The H.W. Wilson Company, is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world.
ARTbibliographies Modern
  ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ARTEX
  The Australian Art Exhibition Catalogues 1990 - 1997 (ARTEX90-97) index lists more than 4,000 Australian art exhibition catalogues published since 1990, including exhibitions held outside Australia. Catalogues are defined as a list of work in an exhibition.
Arts Hub Database
  Jobs Bulletin: online employment resource listing positions vacant and positions wanted, including job opportunities from the UK and USA. News: Australia 's arts industry news service, including news and current affairs issues from both Australia and overseas.
Industry Events Calendar: an important source of information for all manner of happenings, events and activities, from training seminars to grants closing dates.
AustArt Index
  The AustArt Index is produced by staff in the UNSW College of Fine Arts (COFA) Library. It includes references to articles, exhibition reviews and reproductions of work by Australian artists and overseas artists exhibiting in Australia.
Australian Art Auction Records
  The largest and most up-to-date database of Australian and New Zealand paintings sold at auction, from 1973 to date. Includes data on sales records, artist biographical information and auction companies. Only sold paintings and "hammer prices" are listed.
Australian Visual Arts Databases
  A collection of  4 Australian visual arts resources, including ARTEX 90-97, NATSIVAD, AustArt Index and OzBiogs.
Bibliography of the History of Art
  Covering European and American art from antiquity to the present, BHA indexes and abstracts books, periodicals, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition catalogues.
COFA Library Databases    
  Videocassette, CD-ROM, CD, audiocassette, newspaper and ephemera indexes produced by the College of Fine Arts Library. 
Design and Applied Arts Index
  International index to design and craft journals with data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops and firms.
Dictionary of Australian Artists Online
The foundation data focuses predominantly on Colonial artists; women artists to 1950; black and white artists; Aboriginal artists of the Western Desert and the Sydney region.
NATSIVAD
  Provides information on more than 1,500 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists.
 OzBiogs
  Compilation of biographical information from 3 databases, NATSIVAD, AustArt and ARTEX, plus additional biographical data sourced by Discovery Media.

Related Databases

APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes Australian newspapers, journals, conference proceedings and books.
APAIS Full Text: APAFT
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  Indexes 1,100 international arts and humanities journals.
AUSTLIT
  Indexes journals, books, conference papers and theses on Australian literature.
Australian Heritage Bibliography
  Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Austalia's natural and cultural environment.
Current Contents via ISI
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes international journals.
Education Index
  International, covering core journals in the education disciplines.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles from international journals.
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to the present. Indexes books, journals and dissertations.
JSTOR
  Multidisciplinary and full text journals in the arts and sciences.
Libraries Australia (Kinetica)
  Provides access to several databases, the most important being the National Bibliographic Database, which contains over 9 million bibliographic records of titles held in 850 Australian libraries.
Academic Research Library
  Multidisciplinary, indexing 7,000 journals with full text for 3,150 of these journals.
Project Muse
  Multidisciplinary and full text journals from John Hopkins University Press.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega
  Multidisciplinary, provides abstracts/indexing of 2,730 journals from 1982, and makes the full text of 1,330 of these journals available from 1994 onwards.