go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Australian Art Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Artcyclopedia
  Guide to fine art on the Internet.
Artlex art dictionary
  Definitions used in discussing art / visual culture including supporting images, pronunciation notes, quotations and cross-references.
Artists & Galleries of Australia
  Max Germaine. Sydney, Craftsman House, 1994
REF709.9403/8/V0l.1-2
Arts and culture: the new tax system
  Canberra, Australian Taxation Office, 1999
REF700.681/4
Arts marketing: the pocket guide
  Sharron Dickman. Kew, Vic., Centre for Professional Development, 1997
REF700.688/2
Concise dictionary of Australian artists
  Gwenda Robb & Elaine Smith. Melbourne, MUP, 1993
REF709.94/9
The dictionary of Australian artists
  Joan Kerr. Melbourne, OUP, 1992
REF709.94/7
Dictionary of Australian Artists Online
The foundation data focuses predominantly on Colonial artists; women artists to 1950; black and white artists; Aboriginal artists of the Western Desert and the Sydney region.
Dictionary of Australian Biography
  Percival Serle. Angus & Robertson, 1949- (Project Gutenberg)
A dictionary of women artists of Australia
  Max Germaine. Sydney, Craftsman House, 1991
REF709.22/17
The directory of business support services for creative people working in the cultural industry
  Frances paderno. Victoria, ffp Business Creations Pty Ltd, 1998
REF700.681/3
Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia.com
The encyclopedia of Australian art
  Alan McCulloch & Susan McCulloch.2nd ed. Sydney, Allen & Unwin, 1994
REF709.9403/1
Guidelines cultural grants, fellowships, scholarships & awards 2000-
  Sydney, NSW Minsitry for the Arts, 2000-
REF700.799405/1
Heritage: the national women's art book
  Joan Kerr. Sydney, Craftsman House, 1995
REF709.22/19
How to, where to, how to do arts project, where to get help
 
Strawberry Hills, Australia Council for the Arts, 2004
REF700.994/AUS/10
Kunsterlexikon internationale kunsterdatenbank = World biographical dictionary of artists
 
CD-ROM ed. Munchen, K.G. Saur, 2003-
REF709.2205/5 Housed on stand-alone PC in Reference
Money for visual artists
  7th ed. Woolloomooloo, Natioanl Association for the Visual Arts, 2004/2005
REF700.7994/7
National directory of visual arts and craft writers
  Brendan Wall. North Fitzroy, Museums Australia, Inc., 1996
REF700.2594/3
Organising your exhibition: the self-help guide
  Debbie Duffin. Sunderland, UK. AN Publications, 1991
REF700.68/2
Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
Oxford Reference Online
  Numerous dictionaries and encyclopaedias on art, architecture, history, mythology, language and performing arts.
Professional practice kit sheets for visual artists
  Rev ed. Woolloomooloo, National Association for the Visual Arts, 1995
REF700.23/1
Rocketinfo
  A Current News Search Engine and news distribution service about companies, industries, products, events and people.
Who's who of Australian visual artists
  National Association for the Visual Arts. 2nd ed. Melbourne, Thorpe, 1995
REF709.94/10
You and your sponsors: a guide to arranging business sponsorship for the arts
  Sydney, Australia Council, 1993
REF700.7994/4

Search for Australian Art material in the UNSW Library Resources Database