go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Design Applied / Object Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
  An international index to design and craft journals. It currently contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between 1973-2001 (most articles date from 1987), and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Includes industrial design, product design, vehicle design, environmental design, furniture design, packaging, design theory, design for the elderly, design management. Also has a list of Design Archives.
Art Abstracts
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
Art Full Text
  Part of the Wilson Omnifile, an international art index from 1984 onwards. Full text coverage from 1997. Covers contemporary art and design. Includes industrial design.
Art Index Retrospective
  International database of articles published between 1929 and 1984. Includes design.
Art Bibliographies Modern (ABM)
  Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations & exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art and design. Contains external web resources and a thesaurus. From 1974 to present.
AustArt Index
  An index of Australian art and design journals held in COFA Library.
Australian Standards
  Online & full text access to all current Australian Standards, joint Australian/New Zealand Standards and joint Australian/New Zealand/ISO Standards. Access to approximately 6000 standards
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  Indexes over 1000 periodicals worldwide. Produced by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University. In the year 2000, 150,000 records have been added to the online file covering the years 1930 - 1976, with selective coverage back to the 1860s. Includes a lot on design.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
  The Bibliography of the History of Art is the most comprehensive and up-to-date art history bibliography available, covering European and American art from antiquity to the present. BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogues, and articles from 2,500 periodicals. It is produced by the Getty Information Institute and the French Institut de l'Information Scientifique at Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique. Includes design.
COFA Media Databases
  Consists of the following indexes: Video/DVD, CD-i, CDs, Audiocassettes, Newspaper Clippings and Ephemera.


Related Databases

ABI / Inform
  ABI/Global Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of 1,500 journals in business, management, economics & related disciplines. Useful for consumer behaviour, marketing, design and product information.Covers 1971 to the present.
Applied Science & Technology Plus
  Based on Wilson's authoritative Applied & Technology resource, offers instant access to complete articles from a wide variety of leading science and technical journals. Includes abstracting, indexing, full image and covers 1994 to present.
Current Contents via ISI
  ISI Current Contents/Arts & Humanities provides access to complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and all other significant items in recently published editions of over 1,120 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and books from a broad range of categories
Ergonomics Abstracts Online
  An invaluable and rich source of information for any professional needing information not only on mainstream ergonomics but also on related material from psychology, physiology, biomechanics, job design, human- computer interaction, safety science, human engineering, medicine, occupational health, sport and transport.
Expanded Academic
  Multidisciplinary database which provides access to articles in over 1000 periodical titles. Many of the articles are available in a full text. Subjects covered include computing, technology, design, products, sociology and psychology.
Academic Research Library
 
Science Direct
Fulltext collection based on 1150 journal titles published by Elsevier. Includes Compendex engineering database which is useful for design, arts and humanities, business management, psychology and social sciences.
Scopus
   Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.