go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Design Applied/ Object Subject Guide - Internet Links

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links


Gateways

Intute: Arts & Humanities (formerly Artifact)
  Easy to use & powerful tool for discovering the best internet resources for education & research in creative arts and humanities. Includes design, architecture, communications & media & culture, fashion & beauty & visual arts
Core 77
  Industrial design supersite - a gateway to design sources, newsletters, links, discussion, technology, culture & jobs
Design Addict.com
  Portal to modern and post modern design resources
DesignBoom
  Industrial design today - courses, education, history, interviews & online magazines
Design4Design
  Resource centre for architecture & design community - includes lights and chairs
FM4: Furnitutre
  Online resources related to furniture industry, history & design
Tribu Design
  Database and links to design sites, designers, manufacturers, exhibitions, galleries  & archives

Organisations/Associations

Centre for Sustainable Design (UK)
Involved with research & training on eco-design & broader sustainability considerations in product & service development. Publishes with Kluwer the Journal of Sustainable Product Design
Danish Design Center
Contains more than 100 products and designers
Design Institute of Australia (DIA)
Multi-disciplinary organisation of designers in Australia
Design Management Institute (DMI)
An education & research institute dedicated to demonstrating the strategic role of design in business & to improve the management & utilizatgion of design. Organises conferences & seminars & has leading edge publications such as the DMI Journal & DMI Academic Review
Design Research Society
Multi-disciplinary international learned society for the design research community. Publishers of Design Research News and hosts various design discussion groups
GE Plastics
  Leading global manufacturer & distributor of plastics, resins & plastic shapes
Human Factors & Ergonomics Society of Australia
This website has been created to provide a gateway to ergonomics information for interested members of the public and members of the human factors and ergonomics society.
Object: Australia's New Design Centre
Promotes and showcases the best of contemporary craft and new design in Australia. One of Australia's most innovative arts organisations, Object reaches a diverse audience through exhibitions, publications, and retail activities 
Philips
Philips Company site showing details of product designs
Powerhouse Museum
Research collection of decorative arts and design
Smithsonian Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum
Only US online museum site devoted to historic & contemporary design
Society for Responsible Design Australia
  Non-profit, volunteer organisation of designers in Australia
Vitra Design Museum
One of the leading design museums in the world & has one of the most significant collections of modern furniture design