go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Digital Collections Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

 Artcyclopedia
  An index of 7,500 artists with links to their scanned art at museums on the web
Artifact
 A guide to the best of the web for the arts & creative industries. Includes an image bank
 ARTstor
 
The collections within ArtStor include Image Gallery (images of world visual art and culture), Art History Survey Collection (key monuments of world art defined by a concordance of ten standard art history survey texts). Includes a repository of many thousands of images and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment aiming to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
 Google Image Search
 The most comprehensive image search on the web
 NYPL Digital Gallery
  Provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
 Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
 Picture Australia
 
PictureAustralia provides access to images that cover all aspects of Australiana. Artworks include paintings, drawings, prints and posters of abstract art, fine art and portraits. Photographs capture people, places and events. Objects include sculpture, scrimshaw, bark, costume, weapons. Images may be in black and white or full colour.

Related Subject Guides