go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Digital Media Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

ACM Digital Library
  Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) periodicals and proceedings since 1985 are available in the library. While full-text is available for most articles, full-text is not yet available for every proceeding article published before 1991.
COFA Library Databases
  Consists of the following indexes: Video/DVD, CD-i, CDs, Audiocassettes, Newspaper Clippings and Ephemera.
Computer Index Australasia 
  Indexes a range of popular journals and general interest computing and communications periodicals relevant to the home user and to secondary and tertiary students. Also included are relevant items from major Australian daily newspapers. CIA is a source of information about evaluation of software and hardware, product updates and testing, new products and applications, and contains records from 1995 onwards.
Database of Virtual Art
  The Database of Virtual Art documents the rapidly evolving field of digital installation art. This complex, research-oriented overview of immersive, interactive, telematic and genetic art has been developed in cooperation with established media artists, researchers and institutions.
Information Science Abstracts Plus
  Provides worldwide library science and information science records from more than 450 publications dating back to 1966.
Inspec
  More than 4,000 journals, conferences, books and reports are indexed. This database is the equivalent of the Physics Abstracts, Electrical and Electronics Abstracts and Computer and Control Abstracts.
Media Art Histories Archive
  This digital repository is created to allow scholars researching the Histories of Art, Science and Technology to self archive their works on the internet in full or partial text format. All copyrights remain with the author and/or their publisher.The Media Art History Project offers a basis for attempting an evolutionary history of the audiovisual media, from the laterna magica to the panorama, phantasmagoria, film, and the virtual art of recent decades. It is an evolution with breaks and detours; however, all its stages are distinguished by a close relationship between art, science, and technology.
OMN Training Resources Database: Distributors
  A directory of training resources available in Australia which deal with computing and computer applications. Produced by OMN Productions, OMNCTD is a subset of OMN.
OMN Training Resources Database: Resources
  A directory of training resources available in Australia which deal with computing and computer applications. Produced by OMN Productions, OMNCTR is a subset of OMN.
Safari Tech books Online
  The University of New South Wales Library subscribes to 150 titles from the Safari Tech Books Online collection. Safari offers full text access to the latest editions of a selection of titles from two of the leading publishers in information technology, O'Reilly & Associates, Inc. and The Pearson Technology Group. Over 20 technical categories are covered, including Web Authoring, Windows Programming, Software Engineering, Java, Linux/Unix, Perl and XML.


Related Databases

ABI/INFORM Global  
  Multidisciplinary. Full text is provided for 750 of the 1500 titles indexed and abstracted.
Academic Research Library 
  Academic Research Library covers information in the social sciences and the humanities generally, but also has some content in science and technology. Over 2,300 journals are indexed, with about 1,400 of these available in full text.
Applied Science and Tech F/T 
  Applied Science and Technology Plus provide the indexing content of HW Wilsons Applied Science & Technology Abstracts. Over 480 journal titles are indexed, with 145 of these available in full text.
APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes Australian newspapers, journals, conference proceedings and books.
APAIS Full Text
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles.
Current Contents via ISI
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes international journals.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles from international journals.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
  Index to PhD and Masters Theses from American and some overseas universities, including UNSW. Postgraduate students and academics can order theses from this database.


IEEE Xplore  
  Academic Research Library covers information in the social sciences and the humanities generally, but also has some content in science and technology. Over 2,300 journals are indexed, with about 1,400 of these available in full text.
Index to Theses  
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. Corresponds to the printed INDEX TO THESES.
JSTOR
  Multidisciplinary full text journals in the arts and sciences.
Libraries Australia (Kinetica)
  Provides access to several databases, the most important being the National Bibliographic Database, which contains over 9 million bibliographic records of titles held in 850 Australian libraries.
NTIS
  NTIS is the central source for the public sale of U.S.Government-sponsored research, development and engineering reports. Information comes from approximately 600 U.S.government agencies, and foreign governments, with whom they have a bilateral agreement to exchange information, most notably the U.K., Japan, and Germany. Material indexed includes conference proceedings, contract and technical reports, theses, database files, manuals etc.
Project Muse
  Multidisciplinary and full text, indexing 46 journals by John Hopkins University Press.
Proquest Science Journals
  Indexes and provides full text and images of leading journals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers.
Reader's Guide Abstracts Full Text
  Covers abstracting and indexing for 240 international and multidisciplinary periodicals, as well as the full text of over 100 periodicals. Full text coverage begins in 1994.
Science Direct
Fulltext collection based on 1150 journal titles published by Elsevier.
Scopus
  Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Web of Science
  Includes the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index. The database covers over 8,000 journals across all disciplines worldwide.