go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Drawing Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 American National Biography Online
  The ANB biographical resource database including portraits, illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to web sites
 Art Abstracts
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
 Art Full Text
  Based on Art Abstracts with full-text coverage for selected periodicals.
 Art Index Retrospective
  A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984.
 ARTbibliographies Modern
  Abstracts of the current literature of Modern Art, Architecture, Photography and Design sourced from journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, dissertations and exhibition reviews.
 AustArt Index
  AustArt includes references to articles, exhibition reviews and reproductions of work by Australian artists and overseas artists exhibiting in Australia from 1987 onwards.
 Australian Visual Arts Database
  A collection of 3 Australian visual arts sources; ARTEX 90-97, OzBiogs and NATSIVAD.
 Bibliography of the History of Art
  Covering European and American art from antiquity to the present, BHA indexes and abstracts books, periodicals, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition catalogues.
 COFA Media Databases
  Consists of the following indexes: Video/DVD, CD-i, CDs, Audiocassettes, Newspaper Clippings and Ephemera.
 Oxford Art Online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.

Related Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
  Multidisciplinary. Full text is provided for 750 of the 1500 titles indexed and abstracted.
AKL Online: World Biographical Dictionary of Artists
  An International Artists Database with an extensive, up-to-date and authoritative art-history references. It contains information on visual artists from all over the world and throughout the ages, from antiquity to the present.
Alternative Press Index
  Covers 250 alternative, radical and left wing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found indexed elsewhere. Includes all articles of more than five paragraphs.
America: History and Life
  Indexes journals, book reviews, dissertations on North American history and culture.
APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes Australian newspapers, journals, conference proceedings and books.
APAFT: APAIS Full Text
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles.
AHB: Australian Heritage Bibliography
  Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Austalia's natural and cultural environment.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Multidisciplinary and international coverage of western-language periodical articles, monographs, conference proceedings and anthologies.
Current Contents via ISI
  Multidisciplinary. Full text is provided for 750 of the 1500 titles indexed and abstracted.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses
  Index to PhD and Masters Theses from American and some overseas universities, including UNSW.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles from international journals.
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to the present. Indexes books, journals and dissertations.
Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. Corresponds to the printed INDEX TO THESES.
Libraries Australia (Kinetica) 
  Provides access to several databases, the most important being the National Bibliographic Database, which contains over 9 million bibliographic records of titles held in 850 Australian libraries.
NATSIVAD
  Provides information on more than 1,500 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists.
Omnifile Full Text Mega (Wilson)
  Multidisciplinary, provides abstracts/indexing of 2,730 journals from 1982, and makes the full text of 1,330 of these journals available from 1994 onwards. It includes the following databases: Humanities Full Text (international, covering core periodicals in the humanities with selected full text);  Education Index (international, covering core periodicals in the education disciplines); Art Full Text (based on Art Abstracts with full text coverage for selected periodicals); Art Abstracts (indexes and abstracts articles in the fine arts and applied arts including design, published internationally from 1984 onwards); Art Index Retrospective (a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published from 1929-1984); Reader's Guide Abstracts Full Text; SSI: Social Sciences Index.
Academic Research Library
 
Project Muse
  Provides access to the full text of over 40 international, multidisciplinary John Hopkins University Press academic journals.
PsycINFO
  Indexes international journal articles and book chapters.
Rhizome.org
  An online platform for the global new media art community.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Social Science Plus
  Social Sciences Plus indexes the same 420 multidisciplinary and international titles as for HW Wilsons Social Science Index. Of these, 220 are provided in full text. 
Web of Science
  This database includes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Sociological Abstracts
  The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. 
Women's Resources International
  Contains a number of databases: Women Studies Abstracts (1984+); Women's Studies Database (1972+); Women's Studies Librarian (1970+) - containing a variety of monographic resources; European Women from the Renaissance to Yesterday (1610+); POPLINE subset on Women (1964+); Women of Color and Southern Women (1975+); Women's Health and Development (1995). A total of 186,000 + records are indexed by the above databases.