go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Graphics / Media Design Subject Guide

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

 Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
  An international index to design and craft journals. It currently contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between 1973-2001 (most articles date from 1987), and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Includes environmental design, computer aided design, typography, multimedia, illustration, book design, packaging, corporate identity, logos, web site design. Also has a list of Design Archives
 Art Full Text
  Part of the Wilson Omnifile, an international art index from 1984 onwards. Full text coverage from 1997. Covers contemporary art and design. Includes advertising, graphic arts and design and marketing.
Art Index Retrospective
  International database of articles published between 1929 and 1984. Includes advertising, graphic arts and design.
  Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations & exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art and design. Also covers graphics arts and design, calligraphy, computer art, illustration, drawing, cartoons, typography, artists books. Contains external web resources and a thesaurus. From 1974 to present
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
  The Bibliography of the History of Art is the most comprehensive and up-to-date art history bibliography available, covering European and American art from antiquity to the present. BHA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogues, and articles from 2,500 periodicals. It is produced by the Getty Information Institute and the French Institut de l'Information Scientifique at Technique du Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.
  Consists of the following indexes to the COFA collection: Video/DVD, CD-i, CDs, Audiocassettes, Newspaper Clippings and Ephemera.


Related Databases

 ABI/ Inform
  ABI/Inform Full Text provides indexing and abstracting of 1,500 journals in business, management, economics & related disciplines. Useful for advertising, consumer behaviour, marketing, design and product information. Covers 1971 to the present.
 Alternative Press Index
  Indexes 250 alternative, radical and leftwing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found elsewhere.
Applied Science & Technology Plus
  Based on Wilson's authoritative Applied & Technology resource, offers instant access to complete articles from a wide variety of leading science and technical journals. Includes abstracting, indexing, full image and covers 1994 to present.
 Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  The ISI Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Search provide access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world’s leading arts & humanities journals.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
  Indexes over 1000 periodicals worldwide. Produced by the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library, Columbia University. In the year 2000, 150,000 records have been added to the online file covering the years 1930 - 1976, with selective coverage back to the 1860s. Includes graphic design.
 Current Contents via ISA
  Current Contents/Arts & Humanities provides access to complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and all other significant items in recently published editions of over 1,120 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals and books from a broad range of categories- including graphics.
Digital Dissertations
  Index to PhD and Masters Theses from American and some overseas universities, including UNSW. Postgraduate students and academics can order theses from this database by inquiring at Information Desks in the appropriate Special Library. This database is also known as Proquest Digital Dissertations.
Expanded Academic 
  The ISI Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Search provide access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,130 of the world’s leading arts & humanities journals.
Factiva
  Factiva provides full text access to global news and business information from more than 8000 international sources, including Australian newspapers such as the Sydney Morning Herald, the Australian and the Australian Financial Review.
Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland.
Newsbank
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
Scopus
 
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.