go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Graphics / Media Design Subject Guide

Jonathon Lu "Design portfolio cover 2001"
Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Key Resources

 Intute: Arts & Humanities (formerly Artifact)
  A free web portal to the best of the web in the arts and creative industries. Includes design, graphics, communication, media & culture.
 Australian Graphic Design Association (AGDA)
  Industry events, news and articles for Australian graphic design professionals. Also links to graphic designers such as Frog Design, Tomato, Buro Destruct, etc
 Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
 An international index to design and craft journals. It currently contains nearly 120,000 annotated references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between 1973-2001 (most articles date from 1987), and data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc., making the largest database of its kind in the world. Includes environmental design, computer aided design, typography, multimedia, illustration, book design, packaging, corporate identity, logos, web site design. Also has a list of Design Archives.
 Graphis
 
An international journal of visual communications which is published in English, German, and French. This high-quality glossy publication provides seven to nine feature articles, many of which display the work of architects, designers, illustrators, photographers, and graphic artists. The contributors, drawn from the graphic arts field, impart practical information about design, graphics, and illustration. Columns in every issue include global reports of industry news, book reviews, exhibitions, and product information.
Indexed in DAAI; Current Contents; Art Index; ABM; BHA.
Print: CFAQ741.605/5 No 100 (1962)- 
 History of graphic design by Philip B. Meggs. 3rd ed. 1998
 
 After fifteen years of development in graphic design, this expanded and updated Third Edition includes hundreds of full-color images and new material in many areas, including alphabets, Japanese and Dutch graphics, and the computer revolution which has impacted all aspects of contemporary design and communications. With its approximately 1,200 illustrations, lucid text, and interpretive captions, the book reveals a saga of creative innovators, breakthrough technologies, and important design innovations
CFAREF741.6/1
Safari tech books online
   Premier electronic reference library. Contains a number of graphics texts on Autocad, CAD, Director, Flash, Lightwave, Maya & Photoshop

Related Subject Guides