go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Art History Subject Guide

Key Resources | DatabasesJournals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Journals

 
African Arts (refereed)
 
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents; Social Sciences Citation Index
CFA Q709.605/1 Vol.9, No.3 (1976)-
Alba: national and international contemporary art
  CFA 709.41105/1 No.2 (1986)-No.12 (1989); Vol.1, No.1 (Jan/Feb. 1991)-
American Art
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; APAIS; ArtBibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art; AustArt Index
Print: Vol.1, No.1 (1963/64) - Q709.9405/2
American Art Journal (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Humanities Index
709.7305/5  Vol.16, No.1 (Winter 1984)-
American Artist
  1992-
American Journal of Art Therapy (refereed)
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; Current Contents; Education Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index
616.8916505/2  Vol.21, No.3 (1982)-Vol.40, No.4 (May 2002)
AN Magazine(refereed)
 
Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; DAAI
705/87 August (1997)-
Apollo
 
Jan (1980)-Dec (1989)
Q705/6

The Arts Law Centre of Australia
  Current 5 years
344.0409705/2
Art and Text
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art
709.9405/5 No.1 (1981)-No.78 (2002)
Art AsiaPacific
  709.505/6 Vol.1, No.1 (Mar. 1993)-
The Art Book
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern
705/89 Current 5 years
Art Bulletin (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents Q709.05/2 Vol.45, No.1 (1963)-Vol.74, No.4 (1992); Vol.78, No.1 (Mar. 1996)-

Art History (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents; DAAI
705/61 Vol.10, No.1 (March 1987)-
Art in America
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Current Contents; DAAI
Q709.7305/1  Vol.47, No.3 (1959)-
Art International
 
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents;
Q705/16 Vol.7, No.4 (1963)-Vol.27, No.4 (1984); No.1 (1987)-No.14 (1991)
Art Journal
 
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents;
Q705/26  Vol.22, No.1 (1962)-Vol.51, No.4 (1992); Vol.53, No.1 (1994)-
Art Monthly (UK)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art
Q705/25 No.3 (Dec/Jan. 1976/77)-
Art Newspaper
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text
705/77  Current 5 years
The Art Newspaper.com
  International coverage of the arts.
Art Papers (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art
709.7305/7  Vol.22, No.1 (Jan/Feb. 1998)-
Artforum International
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents; DAAI; Humanities Index
Q705/18 Vol.5, No.4 (Dec.1966)-
Artists Newsletter
  March (1995)-July (1997)
705/87
ArtNews
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents; DAAI
Q705/7 Vol.48, no.1 (Mar. 1949)-
Arts in Psychotherapy (refereed)
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents; PsychoInfo
616.8916505/5  Vol.22, no.1 (1995)-Vol.26, No.1 (1999)
Arts Journal
  Articles on dance, media, music, publishing, theatre, visual arts and people.
Art Journals Online (Artsource)
  Over 20 titles including Arts Journal, Ceramics Monthly, CinemaSpace, Fineart Forum, FUSE, Leonardo On-Line, Mediamatic, New Art Examiner, Postmodern Culture, Pottery Making Illustrated, Studio Potter and Umbrella.
Arts Magazine
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents; DAAI
Q705/8 Vol.30, No.1 (Oct. 1955)-Vol.66, No.7 (Mar. 1992)
Arts of Asia
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Current Contents
709.505/3 Vol.5, No.4 (July/Aug. 1975)-

Artscribe International
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; DAAI
Q705/30  No.55 (Dec/Jan. 1985/86)-No.90 (Jan/Feb. 1992)

ArtUS
  709.7305/8 Nov/Dec 2003-
Artwrite
  Produced by the students, School of Art History, College of Fine Arts.


Asian Art
  709.505/4  Vol.1, No.1 (Fall/Winter 1987/88)-Vol.7, No.2 (Spring/Summer 1994)
Asian Art & Culture (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
709.505/4 Vol.7, No.2 (Spring/Summer 1994)-Vol.9, No.3 (1996)
Asian Art News
  709.505/5  Vol.4, No.1 (1994)-
Atenea
  Universidad de Concepción
2003-
Australian Cultural History (refereed)
  Indexed in APAIS; Historical Abstracts (Pts A,B)
994.005/1  No.2 (1982/83)-
Bomb (refereed)
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; Humanities Index
705/71
British Journal of Aesthetics (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Humanities Index; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents
701.1705/1 Vol.1, No.1 (1960)-
Burlington Magazine (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents; DAAI
Q705/9  Vol.117 (1975)-
C: international contemporary art

  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art
709.7105/2 Issue 79 (Fall 2003)-
CAA Reviews
  The College Art Association (CAA) online journal devoted to the peer review of new books relevant to the fields of art history, theory and criticism; arts education and policy and curatorial studies.
ctheory.net
 
CTHEORY is an international peer-reviewed journal of theory, technology and culture. Articles, interviews, and key book reviews in contemporary discourse are published weekly as well as theorizations of major "event-scenes" in the mediascape.
Collapse: the view from here
  No.1 (Oct. 1995)-No.7 (2002)
701.0305/1
Colophon Journal
  Reviews modern and contemporary illustrated books and related works on paper.
Concilium medii aevi
  Duehrkohp & Radicke. In German. Subjects: art history, archaeology, history, middle ages
1998-
Contemporary
  709.04005/1 Jan. 2002-
Contemporary Artists
  Current Edition
REF709.22/4
Contemporary Visual Arts
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern
709.04005/1  Issue 15 (1997)-Issue 34 (June 2001)
Critical Inquiry
  Important interdisciplinary journal in the arts and humanities, including the new technologies.
Crossings: Electronic journal of art and technology
  University of Dublin. Subjects: art, technology, philosophy
2001-
Culture and Policy
  Vol.1, No.1 (1989)-Vol.8, No.3 (1998)
306.405/1
DU
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents
Q705/12  No.1 (Jan. 1975)-No.699 (1999)
Empirical Studies of the Arts
  Indexed in PsychoInfo; Psychological Abstracts
700.5/3  Vol.6, No.1 (1988)-Vol.16, No.2 (1998)
Enculturation
  Published by the University of Texas.
Flash Art
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; DAAI
705/4  No.64/65 (May/June 1976)-
FMR
  No.67 (June 1994)-
705/84
Frieze
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; DAAI
705/83  Issue 14 (Jan/Feb. 1994)-
Fuse Magazine (refereed)
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; Alternative Press Index
302.2305/2  Vol.10, No.4 (Winter 1986/87)-
Genders
  University of Colorado. Subjects: gender studies, sexuality, humanities, literature, art, film, history, media studies, social science
1998-
Grey Room: architecture, art, media, politics (refereed)
  Indexed Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art.
720.5/24 No.10 (Winter 2003)-
Inscape
  Summer 1984-
616.8916505/1
International Directory of Arts
  Current Edition
REF700.25/1
International journal of education and the arts
  Arizona State University.  Subjects: education, aesthetics, arts education
2000-
In[]Visible Culture
  University of Rochester's electronic journal for visual studies.
Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents
701.105/1 Vol.22, No.1 (Fall 1963)-
Journal of Arts Management Law and Society (refereed)
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Current Contents
705/48  Vol.12, No.3 (Fall 1982)-


Journal of Contemporary Art
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Bibliography of the History of Art
705/86 Vol.6, No.1 (Summer 1993)-
Journal of Philosophy and the Visual Arts
  700.105/1 Vol.1 (1990)-Vol.6 (1995/96)
Journal of Visual Culture 
 
Vol.2, No.1 (Apr. 2003)-
700.5/31
Jouvert: a journal of postcolonial studies
  Published by the College of Humanities & Social Sciences, North Carolina State University.
Left Curve
  Indexed in Artbibliographies Modern; Alternative Press Index
Q705/29 No.6 (1976)-
Media International Australia (refereed)
  Indexed in APAIS; Australian Education Index
302.2305/3  No.77 (1995)-
Modern Painters
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art; DAAI
759.0605/1 Vol.1, No.2 (Summer 1988)-
Mondo 2000
  Issue 8 (1992)-
705/80
n.paradoxa 
  International feminist art journal exploring feminist theory & contemporary women's art practices.
New Art Examiner
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art
705/65 Vol.15, No.5 (Jan. 1988)-
The New Yorker
  Includes articles on the Fine and Performing Arts.
Nineteenth-century art worldwide
  Association of Historians of Nineteenth-Century Art.  Subjects: art history, painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, decorative arts
2002-
NU: The Nordic Art Review
  Vol.12, No.1 (Spring 1997)-
709.4805/1
October (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Current Contents; Alternative Press Index
705/43 No.25 (Summer 1983)-
Oriental Art (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art
Q709.505/2 Vol.21, No.1 (1975)-
Orientations
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art
Q915.0305/1  Vol.4, No.2 (1973)-
Oxford Art Journal (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents; DAAI
705/78  Vol.14, No.1 (1991)-
Parachute
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art
705/88  No.80 (1995)-
Parkett
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Bibliography of the History of Art
705/62 No.3 (1984)-
PMC Postmodern Culture
  Leading electronic journal published by John Hopkins University with support from the University of Virginia & Vassar College with an emphasis on interdisciplinary thought on contemporary cultures.
Public
  705/91 No.26 (2002)-
Public Culture
  Public Culture is a reviewed interdisciplinary journal of cultural studies from the Society for Transnational Cultural Studies.
Qui parle
  809.005/1 Vol.14, No.1 (Fall/Winter 2003)-
Raw Vision (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals; Bibliography of the History of Art
705/74  No.1 (Spring 1989)-

Representations Online
  Important interdisciplinary journal in the arts and humanities published by the University of California Press.
Resource Library Magazine
  Devoted to American representational art.
Social Alternatives
  Indexed in APAIS; Current Contents; Social Sciences Citation Index
Q303.405/1 Vol.8, No.1 (1989)-
Social Science Online Periodicals
  From UNESCO Information Services comes history and popular culture journals.
Tamarind Papers
  Vol.3 (1979)-No.17 (1998)
763.05/1
tema celeste
  Bilingual (English and Italian) internet magazine with articles/reviews on international art. Includes the Gabrius Art Index of art auction records.
Third Text (refereed)
  Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern
705/67  No.1 (Autumn 1987)-
Variant
  Scottish free arts and culture magazine.
Word & Image (refereed)
 
Indexed in Art Abstracts; Art Full Text; Artbibliographies Modern; Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Bibliography of the History of Art; Current Contents
705/54  Vol.1, No.31 (1985)-
Woman's Art Journal
  709.2205/1 Vol.6, No.1 (1985)-

Art History journals in the COFA and UNSW Libraries
Search by title for specific journals: the catalogue will give the location and which issues of the journal are held. The COFA Library prefix is CFA.

Search the UNSW Library Resources Database for Art History journals

Journals not held in the COFA and UNSW Libraries
Search Serials in Australian Libraries (SIAL) by title for specific journals.