go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Art History Subject Guide - Internet Links

Key Resources | Databases | Journals | Reference ResourcesInternet Links

Gateways

Yahoo - Artists
  Yahoo has a huge listing of artists in all genres.
Yahoo - Arts
  A huge collection of resources on Art History , including artists, museums, publications (ejournals) and organisations.
Art History Resources on the Web
  Comprehensive listing of resources covering Prehistoric Art; Art of the Middle Ages; Baroque; Renaissance; 18th,19th and 20th Century Art.
EServer.org
  Hosted by the University of Washington, the site has links to Fine Arts, Architecture, Cultural Studies, Aesthetic Theory, Feminism, History, Politics, Marxism, Film and Multimedia, ejournals and organisations.
The Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture
  Hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries the site encompasses documents, images, associations and electronic facsimiles on the decorative arts.
Mother of all Art History Links Pages
  A selective site of art resources on the WWW maintained by Patrick Young, Dept. of the History of Art, University of Michigan.
World Wide Arts Resources
  A searchable collection of Arts Resources.
Art History Network
  The guide allows you to do a picture search as well as providing organised links.
BUBL-Arts
  This is the Art section of BUBL Link which is a catalogue of selected Internet resources covering all academic subject areas and catalogued according to DDC (Dewey Decimal Classification). All items are selected, evaluated, catalogued and described.
ArtSource
  Produced by ARLIS NA it includes discilpline specific resources, bibliographies, art and architecture sites, art journals, electronic exhibitions, experimental projects, image collections and museum information.
The History of Art Virtual Library
  A collection of links maintained by the History of Art Department, Birbeck College, University of London, relating to Art History and computer applications in Art History.
Voice of the Shuttle:Art & Art History Page
  A collection of links relating to Art History, Archaeology, Architecture and Photography maintained by Alan Liu, English Dept., University of California.
Visual and Performing Arts - Infomine
  A comprehensive indexed listing from Infomine which is "librarian built". The Visual Arts Section allows you to search via Table of Contents; Keyword; Subject and Title.
Art Navigator
  It provides a more artist-led view of art on the Web after having grown out of an initiative at the 5th International Symposium on Electronic Art.
Net art in Latin America
  The NetArt Latino Database is a website resource for NetArtists across Latin America. Including links, mailing lists as well as news, this website covers Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Brasil, Venezuela, Colombia, Cuba, Puerto Rico and Mexico.
AskArt
  Over 26,000 American artists, museums, dealers, exhibitions and auction records.
CultureBase
  Culturebase.net is the name of the new Who's Who of the international art and culture scene. Detailed portraits on artists from more than150 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zanzibar, are immediately available through this multimedia database. So far culturebase.net contains information about 1,200 artists who work in the genres of visual arts, film, photography, design, theatre, dance and music, as well as literature and science.
Asian Studies WW Virtual Library
  A site edited by Dr. T. Matthew Ciolek with numerous links to Asian art and cultural sites.
cavant-garde
  Leading artist-run contemporary art portal, focusing on modern, contemporary and avant-garde art, artists, galleries and collectors.
History Research Online
  A collection of resources on history and art history for graduates, teaching assistants and researchers.
Timeline of Art History
  The Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical & thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated especially by the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection
Internet Sources for Contemporary Art Theory and Criticism
  An online guide to internet sites on contemporary art theory and criticism compiled by Sandra Gekosky and Dr. Thomas Patin, Ohio University.
Cultural Studies and Critical Theory
  Cultural studies draws from the fields of anthropology, sociology, gender studies, feminism, literary criticism, history and psychoanalysis in order to discuss contemporary texts and cultural practices.
NYFA Interactive
  The ArtsWire WebBase is a programme of the New York Foundation for the Arts and is a public service for the online arts community to keep abreast of new arts sites and for arts websters to promote their new sites.
PANDORA Archive
  Comprising electronic journals, organisational sites, government publications and ephemera written by Australian authors on subjects of social, cultural, religious, scientific or economic significance to Australia.
Art Guide
  Internet guide to art collections in Britain and Ireland with more than 650 institutions, over 1900 artists and their works on display and hundreds of exhibitions
Art in Context
  A huge listing of artists, galleries, dealers, museums and current or forthcoming exhibitions in the US, plus a selection of images.
fine-art.com
  A gateway to thousands of artists, artworks, galleries, art services and organisations.
art-online
  American Directory of sites including Art History, Art Market, Artists, Education, Employment, Professional, Events, Galleries, Governments, Shopping and many more.
Internet Art Resources
  Over 3,000 artists, links to galleries and museums, feature articles, an image catalogue and a discussion list.
VADS Visual Arts Data Service
  VADS is a part of the Arts and Humanities Data Service. It is a searchable database of Internet resources mainly for use by the visual artists.
Art History Resources (Galaxy)
  Subject directory with international sites on Art History.

Organisations/Associations

frenchculture.org
Cultural Services of the French Embassy in New York promotes the visual arts, cinema, education, people, performing arts, TV and radio.
Association of Art Historians
The Association of Art Historians (AAH) was formed in the UK in 1974 to promote the study of art history. It represents the interests of art and design historians in all aspects of the discipline, including art, design, architecture, photography, film and other media, cultural studies, conservation and museum studies.
Index of Art History Departments' Websites around the world
The Art History Webmasters' Association lists Art History Departments' Websites from around the world.
The Arts and Crafts Society (US)
Includes contemporary sites as well as the Arts & Crafts Movement 1890-1929.
Association of Art History (US Professional Organisation)
The US Association for Art History, a new professional organization dedicated to the study of the history of art.
CASVA Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts
The National Gallery of Art, Washington D.C. research institute fosters study of the production, use and cultural meaning of art, artifacts and architecture from prehistoric times to the present.
CHArt Computers and the History of Art
CHArt is a society open to all who have an interest in the application of computers to the study of art and design
Association of Art History (US Professional Organisation)
The US Association for Art History, a new professional organization dedicated to the study of the history of art.
Goethe Institut Sydney
German cultural organisation which promotes German culture and contains numerous links to German arts organisations.
Getty Research Institute
The Getty Research Institute exists to bring together all the resources and activities required to advance understanding of the visual arts taken in their widest possible significance.
The British Council
The Council acts as a cultural resource centre and promotes the best of contemporary arts in such areas as fashion, literature, dance, design, film and photography, multimedia, music and the visual arts.
Aesthetics on-line
Site for the American Society for Aesthetics and of the British Society for Aesthetics.