go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Art History Subject Guide

Search
Key Resources | Databases | JournalsReference Resources | Internet Links

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

Artcyclopedia
  Comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources.
Encarta
  Online encyclopedia with multimedia content
Encyclopedia.com 
  Online general encyclopedia but also good for art and art history information
Encyclopedia Britannica
  Online general encyclopedia but also good for art and art history information
Encyclopedia Mythica
  Over 5,700 entries on mythology, folklore and legends.
The element encyclopedia of symbols
  Udo Becker. Dorset, Element, 1994
REF302.2223/5
Encyclopedia of aesthetics
  Michael Kelly (ed.) New York, Oxford University Press, 1998
REF111.8503/2/(1-4)
Encyclopedia of comparative iconography: themes depicted in works of art
  Helene E. Roberts (ed.) Chicago, Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1998
REF704.94803/1/(1-2)
Encyclopedia of creativity
  Mark A. Runco & Steven R. Pritzher. San Diego, Academic Press, 1999
REF153.3503/1/(1-2)
Encyclopedia of philosophy
  Paul Edwards (ed.) New York, Macmillan, 1967
REF103/1/(1-8)
Encyclopedia of postmodernism
  Victor E. Taylor and Charles E. Winquist (ed.) London, Routledge, 2001
REF149.97/2
Encyclopedia of world art
  New York, McGraw Hill, 1968
REFQ703/8/(I-XVI)
New Larousse encyclopedia of mythology
  London, Hamlyn, 1959
REF291.13/1
The Queer encyclopedia of the visual arts
  San Francisco, Cleis Press, 2004
REF704.08664/1
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy online
  London, Routledge, 2000

Dictionaries

Artlex art dictionary
Biographical Dictionary
  Information on over 25,000 notable men and women. Search by name, year of birth, profession, publication and other achievements.
The Dent dictionary of symbolism in Christian art
  Jennifer Speake. London, J M Dent, 1994
REF704.946/4
Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs
  E. Benezit. Nouvelle ed. Paris, Grund, 1999
REF709.203/2/(1-14)
Dictionary of Art Historians
  A biographical dictionary of art historians, museum directors and scholars of art
A dictionary of Russian and Soviet artists 1420-1970
  John Milner. Woodbridge, Suffolk, Antique Collectors' Club Ltd, 1993
REF709.47/1
Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art
  James Hall. London, John Murray, 1974
REF704.94/1
A dictionary of the avant-gardes
  Richard Kostelanetz. 2nd ed. New York, Routledge, 2001
REF700.411/1
The icon critical dictionary of postmodern thought
  Stuart Sim (ed.) Cambridge, Icon, 1998
REF190/5
Kunsterlexikon internationale kunsterdatenbank = World biographical dictionary of artists
 
CD-ROM ed. Munchen, K.G. Saur, 2003-
REF709.2205/5 Housed on stand-alone PC in Reference
The new Fontana dictionary of modern art
  Alan Bullock & Stephen Trombley. 3rd ed. London, Harper Collins, 1999
REF190/1
Oxford Art online
  Oxford Art Online provides Web access to the entire text of Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopaedia of Aesthetics and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Extensive image links are included.
The Oxford dictionary of art 
  Ian Chilvers & Harold Osborne (ed.) New ed. Oxford, Oxford University press, 1997
Oxford Reference Online
  Numerous dictionaries and encyclopaedias on art, architecture, history, mythology, language and performing arts.
The Penguin dictionary of art and artists
  Peter and Linda Murray. 7th ed. London, Penguin, 1997
REF703/48
The Prestel dictionary of art and artists in the 20th century
  Wieland Schmied, Frank Whitford & Frank Zollner (ed.) Munich, Prestel Verlag, 2000
REF709.04/12
The Thames & Hudson dictionary of art and artists
  Herbert Read (ed.) London, Thames & Hudson, 1994
REF703/41
WORDS OF ART  
  Okanagan University College


Handbooks and Newspapers

Art history
  Marilyn Stokstad. New York, Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 1999.
REF709/8
Art in theory, 1648-1815
  Charles Harrison, Paul Wood & Jason Gaiger (ed.) Oxford, Blackwell, 2000
REF709.032/2
Art in theory, 1815-1900
  Charles Harrison, Paul Wood & Jason Gaiger (ed.) Mass., Blackwell, 1998
REF709.034/1
Art in theory, 1900-1999
  Charles Harrison & Paul Wood (ed.) Oxford, Blackwell, 1993
REF709.04/10
Art of the 20th century: a year-by-year chronicle of painting, architecture and sculpture
  Jean-Louis Ferrier France, Chene-Hachette, 1999
REF709.04/15
Artwords: a glossary of contemporary art theory
  Thomas Patin & Jennifer McLerran. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1997
REF700.9045/3
Atlas of western art history
  John Steer & Antony White. New York, Facts on File, 1994
REF709/9
Essential art history
  Michael Greenhalgh & Paul Duro. London, Bloomsbury, 1992
REF709/3
Glossary of art, architecture and design since 1945
  John A. Walker. 3rd ed. London, library Association publishing, 1992
REF703/45
Guide to art
  Shearer West (ed.) London, Bloomsbury, 1996
REF703/10
History of art
  H.W. Janson. 5th ed. London, Thames & Hudson, 1995
REF709/6
A history of western art
  Laurie Schneider Adams. New York, Harry N. Abrams, 1994
REF709/5
Key ideas in human thought
  Kenneth McLeish (ed.) New York, Facts on File, 1993
REF190/6

Multilingual Glossary for Art Librarians 
  Compiled by the IFLA Section of Art Libraries.
National directory of visual arts and craft writers
  Brendan Wall. North Fitzroy: Museums Australia, Inc., 1996
REF700.2594/3
The New York Times Guide to the Arts of the 20th century
  London, Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2002
REF700.904/1/1-4
  Full text national and international newspapers.
The Oxford companion to art
  Harold Osborne. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1970
REF703/2
The Oxford history of western art
  Martin Kemp (ed.) Oxford, Oxford University Press, 2000
REF709/11
Postmodernism: critical concepts
  Victor E. Taylor & Charles E. Winquist. London, Routledge, 1998
REF149.97/1/(1-4)
The Wilson chronology of the arts
  George Ochoa & Melinda Corey. New York, H.W.Wilson Co., 1998
REF700.9/1
A world history of art
  Hugh Honour & John Fleming. 6th ed. London, Laurence King, 2002
REF709/12
A world history of art
  Gina Pischell. 2nd rev ed. New York, Newsweek Books, 1978
REF709/10

Discussion Groups

The Consortium for Art and Architectural Historians
  (listserv@pucc.princeton.edu) is a restricted list for the exchange of information concerning scholarship and research in the fields of art and architecture history. You must join this list before you can post to it. To join, email Professor Marilyn Lavin with the subject line `CAAH Subscription Request'. Your message must state your field(s) of interest and your university affiliation.
AmArt-L Electronic forum for scholars of American Art
  A restricted, moderated list aimed at the serious scholar of American Art. Join by sending the message `sub AmArt-L' to listserv@cunyvm.cuny.edu
Art History Webmasters 
  Email list for people who run websites related to art history.
The Artcrit Project 
  Art criticism discussion forum for artists, administrators and others. You can join this group by sending the message `sub ARTCRIT your name'; to listserv@yorku.ca
Feminist Art History Listserv 
 
tile.net
  tile.net's List of Art-related Lists gives a pretty comprehensive picture of what is available for art (including art history). You can also search the tile.net site using keywords to find other lists relevant to more specialised interests, e.g. Byzantine studies.

Search for Art History material in the UNSW Library Resources Database