go to UNSW home page
UNSW logo UNSW Library Website Banner Picture

Contacts | Help
  
UNSW Library
Subject Guides
 
Art & Design
Arts & Social Sciences
Built Environment
Commerce & Economics
Engineering
Law
Medicine
Science
Subject Guides

Painting Subject Guide

Key ResourcesDatabases | Journals | Reference Resources | Internet Links

Databases

Art Abstracts
  Indexes and abstracts articles in the Fine and Applied Arts, including Design, published internationally from 1984 onwards.
Art Full Text
  Based on Art Abstracts with full coverage for selected periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective
  A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984.
Artbibliographies Modern (ABM)
  Abstracts of the current literature of Modern Art, Architecture, Photography and Design sourced from journals, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, dissertations and exhibition reviews.
ARTEX
  The Australian Art Exhibition Catalogues 1990 - 1997 (ARTEX90-97) index lists more than 4,000 Australian art exhibition catalogues published since 1990, including exhibitions held outside Australia. Catalogues are defined as a list of work in an exhibition.
ARTstor
  The collections within ArtStor include Image Gallery (images of world visual art and culture), Art History Survey Collection (key monuments of world art defined by a concordance of ten standard art history survey texts). Includes a repository of many thousands of images and related data; the tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment aiming to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
AustArt Index
  The AustArt Index is produced by staff in the UNSW College of Fine Arts (COFA) Library. It includes references to articles, exhibition reviews and reproductions of work by Australian artists and overseas artists exhibiting in Australia.
  A collection of  4 Australian visual arts resources, including ARTEX 90-97, NATSIVAD, AustArt Index and OzBiogs.
Bibliography of the History of Art
  Covering European and American art from antiquity to the present, BHA indexes and abstracts books, periodicals, conference proceedings, dissertations and exhibition catalogues.
  Videocassette, CD-ROM, CD, audiocassette, newspaper and ephemera indexes produced by the College of Fine Arts Library. 
  This collection includes imagery from the Bettmann Archive, United Press International, and the Hulton Deutsch Collection. There are historic illustrations and photographs of explorers and political leaders, photographs of iconic celebrities from the silent film era through the 1980s, film stills, portraits of sports figures and leaders of industry, science and technology, as well as depictions of everyday life through the decades, from family life and children to cars and the workplace. Also includes paintings, sculpture, illustrations and architecture dating as far back as prehistoric cave paintings.
Design and Applied Arts Index
  International index to design and craft journals with data on nearly 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops and firms.
NATSIVAD
  Provides information on more than 1,500 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists.
OzBiogs
  Compilation of biographical information from 3 databases, NATSIVAD, AustArt and ARTEX, plus additional biographical data sourced by Discovery Media.

Related Databases

ABI/INFORM Global
  Multidisciplinary. Full text is provided for 750 of the 1500 titles indexed and abstracted.
AKL Online: World Biographical Dictionary of Artists
  An International Artists Database with an extensive, up-to-date and authoritative art-history references. It contains information on visual artists from all over the world and throughout the ages, from antiquity to the present.
Alternative Press Index
  Covers 250 alternative, radical and left wing publications, including many popular and academic publications not found indexed elsewhere. Includes all articles of more than five paragraphs.
America: History & Life
  Indexes journals, book reviews, dissertations on North American history and culture.
 American National Biography Online
  The ANB biographical resource database including portraits, illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to web sites
APAIS: Australian Public Affairs Information Service
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes Australian newspapers, journals, conference proceedings and books.
APAIS Full Text: APAFT
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  Indexes 1,100 international arts and humanities journals.
Australian Heritage Bibliography
  Indexes journals, unpublished reports, books and videos relating to Austalia's natural and cultural environment.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
  Multidisciplinary and international coverage of western-language periodical articles, monographs, conference proceedings and anthologies.
Current Contents via ISI
  Multidisciplinary. Indexes international journals.
Digital Dissertations
  Index to PhD and Masters Theses from American and some overseas universities, including UNSW. Postgraduate students and academics can order theses from this database by inquiring at Information Desks in the appropriate Special Library. This database is also known as Proquest Digital Dissertations.
Education Index
  International, covering core journals in the education disciplines.
Expanded Academic ASAP
  Multidisciplinary. Includes many full text articles from international journals.
Factiva
  Multidisciplinary. Full text is provided for both national and international newspapers and journals.
Historical Abstracts
  Covers world history from 1450 to the present. Indexes books, journals and dissertations.
Index to Theses
  Contains records of theses accepted for higher degrees by the Universities of Great Britain and Ireland. Corresponds to the printed INDEX TO THESES.
Libraries Australia (Kinetica)
  Provides access to several databases, the most important being the National Bibliographic Database, which contains over 9 million bibliographic records of titles held in 850 Australian libraries.
Project Muse
  Provides access to the full text of over 40 international, multidisciplinary John Hopkins University Press academic journals.
PsychINFO
  Indexes international journal articles and book chapters.
Reader's Guide Abstracts Full Text: Mega Edition
Covers abstracting and indexing for 240 international and multidisciplinary periodicals, as well as the full text of over 100 periodicals.  Full text coverage begins in 1994.
Rhizome.org
  an online platform for the global new media art community.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, and seamless links to full text articles and other library resources. It is updated daily.
Social Science Plus
  Social Sciences Plus indexes the same 420 multidisciplinary and international titles as for HW Wilsons Social Science Index. Of these, 220 are provided in full text.
Social Sciences Index: SSI
  Core periodicals in various social sciences disciplines. UNSW Library holdings indicated for each citation retrieved.
Sociological Abstracts
  The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Wilson Omnifile Full Text Mega
  Multidisciplinary, provides abstracts/indexing of 2,730 journals from 1982, and makes the full text of 1,330 of these journals available from 1994 onwards.
Women's Resources International
  Contains a number of databases: Women Studies Abstracts (1984+); Women's Studies Database (1972+); Women's Studies Librarian (1970+) - containing a variety of monographic resources; European Women from the Renaissance to Yesterday (1610+); POPLINE subset on Women (1964+); Women of Color and Southern Women (1975+); Women's Health and Development (1995). A total of 186,000 + records are indexed by the above databases.